Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
These were great! The only problem I had was making them round (which they definitely weren't) but that's more user error than the recipe. :) My 4-year-old loved them, so we'll be making this often! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Would definitely cut down on the salt. I used 1 Tbsp unsalted butter instead of shortening. Had to roll extremely thin to get tortillas that were somewhat pliable. Will probably try a different recipe next time or cheat and buy the uncooked tortillas from Costco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by o.d
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
bueno! this is my first time trying to make tortilla and it was succesful! i sub the shortening with 3 tbsp of corn oil though coz i don't have shortening. i have no problem rolling it at all :D gracias recipe submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by o.d

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These turned out great! It was my first time succesfully making tortillas. My hubby said they tasted better than store-bought. They did not turn out perfect, but it was my own fault and not the recipes. I did not add enough water at first, and the dough was REALLY tough, but after letting it rest for about 20 min, it was rollable, and a little less like rubber. I would advise you to add plenty of water, and then a little flour at a time to even it out. Cooking time was not listed, and after my first two tortillas came out like crackers, I learned my lesson. If you place the tortilla in and flip it every 5 secs or so JUST until the dough turns from the yellow-like dough to white, (but before the brown spots heat up) and you put them in a large baggie lined with two paper towels, they turn out GREAT! Practice makes perfect, so I will DEFINATELY use this recipe again! --> Update: Tried again, and without a flaw! These are SOO much better than storebought! I learned the tricks: use very warm water, and even on a low heat it's only a few seconds on each side, and roll them THIN :-) Don't second guess the cooking time, it's really all it needs is a little heat! P.S. Nonstick pan is best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
VERY GOOD!!! I rolled out the dough and made mini tortillas with a cup. My kids LOVED them!! When they were done I buttered them up and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar. Definite keeper!! Thank you for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was looking for recipes like the soft tortillas you get at mexican restaurants. These were good, but not quite it. I am not sure why mine were a little on the crispy side, even though I barely cooked them. They were kind of dry. Maybe if I steamed them after cooking? It was fun to make these with my sister though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic! I made two batches that each made 12 med burito/fajita size tortillas. I needed to add another 1/4cup of water, but that may be because of the whole wheat flour I had to use because I was low on the regular stuff. To anyone complaining of dryness, you must use a damp kitchen towel to store just cooked tortillas no matter their size or thickness...I'm not sure of any recipe for tortillas that would not require you to do so. I was able to roll my tortillas out very thin: once I got the hang of it, I could roll one out as the other was cooking. Also, for a little more flavor on my second batch, I substituted the salt for ham soup base...yummy! Thank you for the recipe, I doubt I will ever buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marynlc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
They turned out a little thick, but that could be my lack of experience. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Somewhat too salty, and not easy to roll the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linpeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
It was different than what I thought, but easier to make than I thought. I rolled my dough out paper thin, but when it cooked up it had alot more bread on the inside. Not sure if that was supposed to happen or not. It tasted very good otherwise, but it's kinda like a wrap, not a tortilla. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States