Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was looking for recipes like the soft tortillas you get at mexican restaurants. These were good, but not quite it. I am not sure why mine were a little on the crispy side, even though I barely cooked them. They were kind of dry. Maybe if I steamed them after cooking? It was fun to make these with my sister though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic! I made two batches that each made 12 med burito/fajita size tortillas. I needed to add another 1/4cup of water, but that may be because of the whole wheat flour I had to use because I was low on the regular stuff. To anyone complaining of dryness, you must use a damp kitchen towel to store just cooked tortillas no matter their size or thickness...I'm not sure of any recipe for tortillas that would not require you to do so. I was able to roll my tortillas out very thin: once I got the hang of it, I could roll one out as the other was cooking. Also, for a little more flavor on my second batch, I substituted the salt for ham soup base...yummy! Thank you for the recipe, I doubt I will ever buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marynlc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
They turned out a little thick, but that could be my lack of experience. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Somewhat too salty, and not easy to roll the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linpeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
It was different than what I thought, but easier to make than I thought. I rolled my dough out paper thin, but when it cooked up it had alot more bread on the inside. Not sure if that was supposed to happen or not. It tasted very good otherwise, but it's kinda like a wrap, not a tortilla. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was the first time I ever made tortillas from scratch and I feel very proud of my creations! This was very easy, but there was no way I was getting 12 tortillas that could have any kind of filling in them! I made 7-8 medium sized tortillas, and the only complaint I have is that they were pretty crunchy and stiff. I wish the instructions said to roll them out SUPER THIN, and gave hints for keeping them soft. Next time I will double the recipe and try putting them in a plastic bag to get soft. THANKS for the great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I have to work on my shaping. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Instead of shortening, I used 3:1 parts butter and honey -- the honey definitely made the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made them exactly as said and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made these for dinner tonight and I was very impressed and so was my family. Right now they think I'm pretty amazing so 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States