Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KA Winningham
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA Winningham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Such an easy recipe and a big hit with the family .. will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wasn't anything to brag about, but they worked. Mine had excess flour that I couldn't get rid of, not a big deal. Kids ate them so I'd use them in a pinch, but think I'll stick to buying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just a note if using a press/rolling pin if you press between wax paper it stops the problem of sticking and the paper is reusable as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe and added a tsp of sugar. Mixed it all up in my stand mixer with dough hook. Didn't need to floor the counter to roll them out. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this exactly to the recipe. I doubled it. The dough was a bit dry. I added a bit more water to moisten it and let them sit on and under moist towels. I kneaded them slightly. I also use hot water. I have a recipe for thick chewy tortillas that is more of a Texas/Native American recipe that I love. These aren't as chewy as I had hoped for. Still great though! I like to add cilantro and jalapenos to my tortilla mix too, makes them very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Nice easy recipe! Why buy at the store??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were good, easy to roll, but had floury taste, still not bad. Another thing, this recipe needs some adjustment, use less flour or more liquid, 3/4-1 c water not 1/2 for sure, more oil. I would not say they are better than mission tortillas. I will tweak this recipe or try another one next time, and with vegetable oil instead of crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening and made sure the water was very hot. I probably rolled too much and added too much flour, but they still came out beautifully and remain soft after 3 days. I don't think I'll be buying grocery store tortillas again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States