Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I've been making tortillas since I had to stand on a chair to reach the counter. I just want to give some pointers to make this easier for those who want to try it. 1)First you don't need boiling water just as hot at you can stand out of the tap without burning yourself. 2)Let the dough sit covered for about 15 minutes before you divide them up & roll them out. 3) If you happen to have bacon grease that adds a wonderful flavor, that you don't get from plain old lard. (Just a once in a while treat I'll give myself) 4) The rolling pin you use makes all the difference in the world. If you are using one of those big fat ones with handles on the side you are never going to get anywhere. A regular wooden pin with no handles & about an 1 1/2inch diameter is what you need. 5) If you over roll them they will get hard & tough. Once up from the center & once down from the center flip over & rotate 90degrees. 6)Practice practice a couple of wasted batches don't worry its only flour & water no big loss & you can always make chilaqueles from hard tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
691 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I usually use my grandmother's recipe but was unable to get a hold of her. This recipe was just about the same and they came out just like Grandma's. If you're not used to making tortillas or grew up around them daily the rolling out of the tortillas can be tricky. Just a couple of hints: Sprinkle a little flour on your surface and your rolling pin to keep the dough from sticking. Start in the center and roll up once and back to the center to roll down and then you need to keep turning the tortilla a couple of inches after you roll it out. It's so much easier once you get the hang of it. Store bought tortillas just don't taste like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Juan, Texas, USA
Living In: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Excellent recipe! Those of you who don't like to roll your out or are finding too much work for you, buy a tortilla press. They cost about $20 and are worth every penny!! I couldn't live without mine and this recipe is perfect with it! It makes it worth making them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This is a great recipe. taste just like tortillas, but better! I omitted the baking powder and i used margerine instead of shortening. i rolled out the dough paper thin... then i placed a bowl on the dough and cut around the edge of the bowl.. so all of my tortillas were the same perfect circles. they looked exactly like store-bought tortillas, but tasted much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This is the first tortilla recipe I've found that makes tasty, pliable tortillas. They keep well for several days when sealed in a ziplock bag. Delicious and fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This recipe is wonderful! As tortilla recipes go they are very tempermental. This one is easy to follow and quite basic. I have tried many tortilla recipes and they usually turn out crispy like crackers. Cooking for 1-2 mins may be too much, I only cooked them for about 30-45 secs (or about 20 secs each side). They are a bit plain, but I am more concerned with consistancy and these are pliable and easy to cook with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
These were very easy to make and so delicious, but soooooo very difficult to roll out. At first it was easy when the dough was still warm... but it got tougher and tougher. I halved the recipe and got more than enough and had a good workout in the kitchen with the roller. *lol*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I found that it takes more time than it is worth to make tortillas.They come out dry and stiffer than the bought ones . Unless your having a lot of help, it isn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I have tried making tortillas in the past without much success. This was the easiest dough to roll out! It was like playdough. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This was a great recipe. I never knew how easy it was to make tortillas. The only problem is, the rolling part is sooooooo tedious and long. You just can't get them thin enough, and after I make half the batch, I end up throwing hte rest of the dough away. I think next time, I'll try using a pasta maker to roll the dough really thin. hope it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States