Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe as my first attempt at making torillas. Overall it turned out very well. I did have some interesting shapes including the accidental heart shaped one. I think a tortilla press my be in my future. I used 4 tablespoons margarine and about 1 1/4 cup boiling water. I used my breadmaker (dough/pasta setting or another non-baking cycle) to knead the dough. The breadmaker cut down on the work and also kept the dough warm while I was rolling out the tortillas. I made a full batch which was good because there were some bloppers. My electric stove was much too hot on the med high setting, about medium or a little less worked best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
YUMMY! I added liquified spinach instead of the water and these were amazing wraps! I'm making tortillas with them now. but wow - I need a tortilla press! These are awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdadof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
very good, but oh so time consuming for a new tortilla maker. I suggest making these in the evening if you have small children. I put the left overs in the freezer and I am hoping they freeze well. I am glad these make a lot. I would hate to do all that work and have every single last one eaten every time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I used coconut oil in place of the shortening. This recipe makes a very soft dough that is easy to roll thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Fantastic! This was the first time ever making them and we'll never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Always a fan of fajitas, brought up the level of my fajita recipe with these little gems!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent! I have been searching for a tortilla recipe for years. They always ended up like crackers. I saw that this recipe had less shortening which made me nervous, but proof was in the tortilla! I had bacon grease on hand from breakfast and added that to the griddle before placing the tortillas on to cook. **NOTE** I used twice the amount of salt just for my personal taste. I also used all the water recommended (not boiling just hot) and even added about 1/4 cup more after everything was mixed because my dough still looked like flakes of flour handed got sticky yet. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by askbigmel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
very good! These are chewy and don't break when you fold them. Next time I will add more salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
SO EASY SO GOOD ROLLING TAKES GETTING USED TO AND AM GOING TO BUY A TORTILLA PRESS!N THESE ARE WAY BETTER THAN STORE BOUGHT NO COMPARISON!! THANKS FOR SHARING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dynabryte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA
Living In: Magnolia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
These are pretty good. But I was skeptical about the amount of salt in the recipe so I upped it to 3/4 of a teaspoon. Still fell a little flat but I am glad that I did increase the salt amount or they would have been flavorless. Also I had to add about an extra 1/2 T of shortening to the flour mixture because I couldn't get it to the right texture with just the 2T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States