Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
We loved this recipe but I did make a few changes. I added a bit more salt and a lot more shortening. My tortillas rolled out easily and cooked wonderfully in a lightly-greased skillet. We'll definitely be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupped_mouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We all thought these were great! I couldn't find my Crisco, so I used lard. What an easy recipe! They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very easy to make! I cut the recipe in half, substituted olive oil for shortening, and rolled the dough a bit thicker to make roughly a dozen tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKEWALLACE1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
These tortillas are phenomenal! I don't think I'm ever going to buy tortillas at the store ever again. These are so simple and easy to make, and they are soft and delicious. My boyfriend and I were shocked that they tasted good even just by themselves, and they were wonderful for chicken soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
These were delicious. I will make them exactly like this again and again. The hardest part by far was rolling the tortillas out. I am thinking about finding a good tortilla press to expedite the process, as I foresee making these from now on instead of purchasing them. I don't know if the recipe was off or if it was due to user error but I didn't get anywhere close to 60 tortillas out of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Conover, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was my first time making tortillas. I thought mine were a little thick once I started eating them (used them to make quesadillas) but my boyfriend absolutely loved the thickness and the taste. As with other reviews, I added a bit more salt and I also added some basil. I know this probably sounds silly but the dough was extremely hot once I added the boiling water. I had to let it cool for a bit before I started mixing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
easy easy tortillas! Taste just like the ones that you can get at any tortilla factory restaurant. Even though its easy, it does take a bit of time and practice. Not a bad trade off when you bite into them for the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliMasaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This recipe is just fine, as a matter a fact I bet you could use oil, butter or shortening and it would turn out just fine. I have been trying in vain for 2years to make Tortillas to no avail. I finally tried watching a Youtube video to see what I was doing wrong. The only thing I was doing wrong; cooking them too long! They only need a very sm. amount of time like 15 sec. on each side. Love that we can make them ourselves now. Also if you roll them out on a wax paper with a little flour sprinkled on it and only one layer (the bottom)then lift the wax paper with the tortilla on it and carefully seperate it from the paper to put on the griddle, it works awesome! Thanks for all the reviews and recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
these are the bomb! though it takes effort, they are totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
added a bit more water and oil. rolled gently with a french pin. DELICIOUS! Kids wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States