Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
These turned out great! I have made them twice and the first time I made them I decided to roll them all out at once and then cook them. This made them a bit brittle, but still pliable. When I made them the second time, I made these with a friend, so we cooked them as soon as they were rolled out. It made a big difference to cook the tortilla after it is rolled out because it stays softer until it is used up. Don't forget to wrap them in a clean dish cloth and store in a bag. They won't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I really liked these. They are a hassle to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Made these and they were as simple as could be. I rolled them between parchment paper, and had no problem w/ needing extra flour. The tortillas were soft, and wonderful. I used the tortillas w/ the slow cooked steak fajitas...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Excellent!!! I will never buy tortilla shells again. I am living in Salzburg and the shells are so expensive (10 for $4,65). That I thought I would try to make them myself. They came out perfect and rolling them on parchment paper makes the job really easy. Try them you won't regret it. Each tortilla takes less than a minute to cook so do not overcook. Cover with a clean towel as you work. Good Luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lian W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This was the first time that I made tortillas and everything worked out wonderfully. They were delicious, definately better than store bought. The only thing that I would change would be to add slightly more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
These came out great for me. I read many reviews suggesting adding extra salt which i did not do because I wanted to try the recipe "as is" first. Next time I will add 1/2 tsp. more salt...but that is a matter of personal preferance. Tortilla making is much easier than expected! We used them for fajitas. I can't wait to make these again and try a batch of chicken enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Awesome and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was so fun! I've always wanted to make homemade tortillas and had no idea it was this easy. I made 2 batches and this is what I learned in the process; I increased the salt to 1 tsp., used slightly more water than the recipe calls for (just a tbls or so), and I neglected to knead the dough both times and it didn't seem to effect the outcome at all. Also, the tortillas only need to sit on medium heat for about a minute each side, too long and they start to get crisp. Dividing the dough into equal parts I ended up with 16 8-10" tortillas. A tip to get a nice round tortilla; Before you start to roll out the dough flatten it into a thick disk shape, once you have rolled it out a few times flip the tortilla and roll it out some more. I found that this helped me increase it's size and create a more uniform shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
It worked okay. I did half whole wheat, half unbleached all-purpose flour. The whole wheat made it harder to work with, but my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States