Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
My grandmother (Spaniard) used to make tortillas like this all the time! These were so yummy. I cut the recipe down to yeild 8 servings and totally eye-balled the hot water. WARNING: Too much shortening will produce a tough and flaky dough! Also, gradually adding the water will allow you to adjust to maintain a really soft, pliable dough that's deliciously bendable. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeseB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I thought these were GREAT and pretty easy to make, I did have a tortilla press and that made it really easy and fast... I don't know if I'll ever buy tortilla's from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Sooo good. I had no trouble with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sherrard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Perfect and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I have never made tortillas before, but thought that I would try. I know that they are called "flour" tortillas, but mine were a little too floury. I might try one more time and see if that was just a one time issue. A tip that I read on the website to roll out the dough was to put the ball of dough in a big ziploc bag and roll it out. That seemed to work really well for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I've been making tortillas since I had to stand on a chair to reach the counter. I just want to give some pointers to make this easier for those who want to try it. 1)First you don't need boiling water just as hot at you can stand out of the tap without burning yourself. 2)Let the dough sit covered for about 15 minutes before you divide them up & roll them out. 3) If you happen to have bacon grease that adds a wonderful flavor, that you don't get from plain old lard. (Just a once in a while treat I'll give myself) 4) The rolling pin you use makes all the difference in the world. If you are using one of those big fat ones with handles on the side you are never going to get anywhere. A regular wooden pin with no handles & about an 1 1/2inch diameter is what you need. 5) If you over roll them they will get hard & tough. Once up from the center & once down from the center flip over & rotate 90degrees. 6)Practice practice a couple of wasted batches don't worry its only flour & water no big loss & you can always make chilaqueles from hard tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
697 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
We eat tortillas often and did not care for this recipe. They need more salt and way more liquid for a soft, pliable dough. After making the dough, it was such a disaster we had to throw it away. If you want a much better recipe, I recommend Tortillas II from this site. The ratios to flour and liquid are much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Best tortillas I have ever made. They roll out beautifully and look like they came from a good mexican restraunt.....loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
These turned out great! I have made them twice and the first time I made them I decided to roll them all out at once and then cook them. This made them a bit brittle, but still pliable. When I made them the second time, I made these with a friend, so we cooked them as soon as they were rolled out. It made a big difference to cook the tortilla after it is rolled out because it stays softer until it is used up. Don't forget to wrap them in a clean dish cloth and store in a bag. They won't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I really liked these. They are a hassle to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States