Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
When I first cooked these, I thought they seemed stiff for tortillas, then realized that they soften when you stack them and keep them warm with the towel. Very nice--better than store-bought and simple. The recipe also works well with whole wheat flour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Best tortillas I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These are awesome! Better than the store bought kind, nice and tender. Next time I make them I'm going to use bigger dough balls to get bigger tortillas. Yum definitely try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My grandma just recently passed away a few weeks ago, I will miss her tortillas but can honestly say that these are so close to how she made them right down to rolling the dough in little balls first. Thanks for the authentically great tasting tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Creekside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very good, easy to work with. Made them into tortilla rollups and the next day the tortilla was not as good. If I could have heated them up they would have been fine though I'm sure, but since it was a "cold" appetizer couldn't do that, so did not hold it against my review of 4stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
OMG These are so much better than store bought! A little tricky to roll out, but I assume that gets easier with practice! I did need a little more water than suggested here to get the right texture. Overall, nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I would not recommend this recipe at all! I spent a good portion of my childhood in rural mexico and was hoping to find a recipe similar to the tortillas I had as a kid. this fell way short of that mark. It was too dry and not enough salt. Will keep looking for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IKCARAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Really good! My first attempt gave me thick, inedible tortillas that were crunchy on the outside and doughy inside, but the next time I used a touch less water and flattened them with a tortilla press and they were excellent. Having someone else in the kitchen to help made a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I really wanted fajitas for dinner and we didn't have any tortillas. I thought "How hard could it be to make tortillas?" They turned out fantastic and well worth the effort. They were way better than the ones in the store, no preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomas A
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was very easy to make and they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States