Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Been trying to make soft tortillas for over 15 years..these can out great..one tip use hot water almost boiling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I don't know how these could've turned out with such a high ratio of flour to shortening, perhaps I did something wrong, but didn't work out-it just seemd like I had way too much flour, and when I added all the water, it still wasn't coming together. I prefer the recipe on here titled Authentic Mexican Tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I would add another Tbls. Of shortening so they would not come out crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Gallegos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
My family has used this recipe for months and it is great. It tastes great and it's easy to make. My 10 year old makes them using our tortilla press we bought at a little Mexican grocery. We do sub the shortening with butter or coconut oil though. Love, Love, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I tried another recipe for tortillas and it wasn't as good as this one. I used butter for the shortening and they turned out great - the tortillas were soft and delicious. I followed other reviewers' suggestions to limit the amount of rolling I did with the rolling pin. I just pushed hard and rolled once, then turned it 180 degrees and did the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I make tortillas every day. Some tips would be to not add too much BP, it will make hard tortillas! No more than 1 tsp. for a recipe this size. Also, knead only until well-combined, this is not a bread recipe and over-kneading will also make them tough. I suggest letting dough balls rest, and refrigerating them (just throw 'em in a plastic container) for a few hours before using. You can also keep the dough balls for a week, refrigerated in the same container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I grew up eating store brought tortillas and this was the first time I made them at home so I'm not really the most knowledgable on authentic tortillas, but these came out really good. I found that I needed more water than called for- over a half of a cup more! The only substitution I made was to use bacon fat instead of the shortening. My tortillas came out soft, pliable, and chewy (in a good way). I put the leftover tortillas and a damp paper towel in a ziploc bag in the fridge in the hopes that they'll stay soft and chewy when we finish the batch off this weekend. Good recipe that I'll definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made this exactly what it called for. Tasteless and after cooked very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe because it had such good reviews and I have been wanting to try to make my own tortillas. I have to admit that I really didn't think it would turn out. Boy, I was wrong. The recipe was terrific and so easy to make. At first, I was making them too thick but once I got the hang of it, it was smooth sailing! So good. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States