Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This was a little spicy for my child, but my husband and I enjoyed it so very much. It is also excellent the next day if you put the sauted tortillas in a container and use them for individual usage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
Loved it - tasted just like what I've been searching for. I've been trying to find a good recipe for tortilla soup for a while and this is it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
This has become a fall and winter staple in our household with a few twists. I use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth - a can of peeled plum tomatos and I throw in a avocado in the last stages of simmering. Serve it with the basil, roasted pepper, monterey jack cornbread from breadrecipe,com and you have a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
A wonderful soup for a fall/winter day. I added some fresh chiles for a little bite, and served with avacado, monterey jack, and bought tortillas. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I have been looking for a tortilla soup to rival the Mexican restaurants and this is it! I added 1/4 cup lime juice to give it some kick and served with jalapenos. Also, freezes very well. Thanks, Sheila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This recipe is excellent!!! I only used two chicken breasts instead of four, I also added salt to taste. This made enough for my husband and myself for two meals. The flour tortillas are a nice change from the normal corn. My husband likes the flour ones but not the corn, so this is just perfect. This would be really great with black olive slices added at the last minute also. I did add extra lime juice, just a personal preference. This is a great recipe. It is very spicy with the cumin and cayenne pepper. If children will be eating you might want to half the amounts on these two. Thank you for the fabulous recipe Sheila!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
After making a few changes to this wonderful soup recipe, I think this is the best ever!! I used Tyson Whole roasted chicken (no skin or bones).I only used 1/2 the onion. I omitted the lime juice& cilantro. I used corn tortillas, not flour. I added fresh corn, fresh zucchini, & carrots. I fried corn tortilla strips in vegetable oil with a dash of chili pepper until crisp and used for topping along with cheese on top with a slice of avacado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Quite good; I added yellow corn. With this recipe you're really cooking, instead of just heating up some cans. BUT, if you like to just heat up cans of soup for a quick & yummy tortilla soup, check out the Easy Tortilla Soup submitted by Pat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
this recipe totally rocked, but i subsituted chili powder for ceyenne pepper. so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was the best soup! I made my own homemade chicken stock and served it with baked corn tortilla stips, avocado, cheese and salsa. Yummy! I will make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States