Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I've made this so many times I don't even need to look at the recipe! Whenever family comes to visit us in San Diego I have this soup and a pitcher of margaritas waiting for them after a long flight. I don't add the tomato soup as suggested, but I do add a little more chicken broth than the recipe calls for. It's definitely worth the effort to make your own fried tortilla strips. I sprinkle them with a little cumin and salt while they're still hot. I serve this with chopped cilantro, extra lime, chopped avocado and grated jack cheese. So easy and amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Made this one quite awhile ago actually, and totally forgot to review it!! lol My husband loved it, I think I only got one bowl, he gobbled the rest down. I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Great simple recipe, tastes great, I normally add a bag of frozen corn along with everything else to add a little more texture to the soup - I also suggest a dollop of sour cream and a slice of avocado when serving to really add some great dimension and contrast to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a big hit with my family. I fried corn tortillas instead of flour, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Easy and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I also added a can of corn, a can of black beans, and some extra water with a chicken boullian cube. I also made this in my crock pot. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this soup yesterday for the first time, and followed some of the previous suggestions. One can of corn, one can of black beans, and I didn't add the cayenne pepper due to personal preference. I did add the juice of an entire lime, and didn't add cilantro to the soup, but used it as an optional garnish. My husband and I agreed that this was by far the best tortilla soup either of us had ever had. I cooked it in the crock pot on low all afternoon, and our whole house smelled amazing. Next time, I will definitely make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hettinger, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was sooo tasty. I doubled the amount of broth and added a can each of black beans and corn. I also halved the cayenne and added a total of 3 tbsp lime to it. The lime really makes this recipe, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a HIT with my family. For color we added corn, black beans and for additional flavor we add hominy. Because we were not sure is the added ingredients would make the soup less souper, we added an additional can of chicken broth. Note: we did not increase the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I used this as a base for my soup and it was very good. I added about a cup of beer and some black beans and corn and a few dashes of mexican seasoning. I think with out these changes it would have been a bit bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States