Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
The best tortilla soup! Reminds me of my grandmothers! Added some cut avocados to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very easy and a nice thick soup with great flavor. I tweaked a little, added a can of corn (in photo but not recipe), more diced tomatoes and sliced up some flour tortillas small like noodles and added in beginning of recipe. This thickened soup and added another texture. All together a great recipe. I didn't have cumin and it still had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
delicious! I hate corn tortillias so I used flour ones, cut into strips andskipped frying them. dropped em right into the soup. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Love love love this soup! To save a few grams of fat and calories, I bake the tortilla garnish (with no oil) instead of frying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this soup for seveal people at our office-I had rave reviews! What a flavorful delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was great. My family has been bugging me to cook more for weeks now. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and threw in corn, because I put corn in everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was very delicious. I added corn and black beans to my soup and used some roasted green chile I had in the freezer instead of the canned chiles. It was spicy, but not so hot that my mouth was on fire and I could enjoy the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by audreybix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great soup! I modify everything -- added can of hominy and chopped jalapenos. I don't fry my tortillas - I use corn tortillas and cut into strips, put on sheet pan then spray with olive oil and bake - 12 min or so at 350. shake pan 1/2 way thru. Great with sliced or chunked avocado added in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This one is a little bland for me. I tried adding some salt, but it is missing the traditional Mexican flavors you expect in a Tortilla soup. Very healthy and low in fat, but also a little low on flavor. I think that other recipes with more ingredients would get better results, but would take longer to make. One more point - this recipe does not allow for the cooking time of the chicken. You have to boil and shred it before adding it to the broth, so allow 15-20 mins for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My company caters lunch and I have tortilla soup a few times a month. I just had to make it for my family and this recipe was much more of what I want in a tortilla soup. Fresh and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States