Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is delicious! I added a little chili powder and some frozen corn kernels. Topped with sour cream and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This soup was delicious! I agree with a previous reviewer about sauteing the onion with corn tortillas and then adding it to the soup. I used 4 small corn tortillas and added them to the pan as I sauteed the onions. They added an awesome flavor to the soup, although did fall apart as it cooked. It wasn't clear and brothy but had lots of depth in flavor. If I was serving to company, I would probably only serve the tortillas on top and not cook them in (to make it look better). Corn tortillas are the way to go with this soup. I used the breasts from a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was really, really, really good! We hd been wanting something mexicanish, but didn't want tacos, enchilladas or anything like that and this really hit the spot! It was a little too spicy for us and i think it had a little too much chicken and not enough broth but that could be easily fixed. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly except that I multiplied it by 4! It turned out great! I added corn as well as suggested by some others on here. Very flavorful. The tortilla strips on top really seal the deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Since I retired a couple of years ago I have had to "re-learn" to cook and this soup certainly helped! Husband loved it...one secret he doesn't know - I used a tbsp of plain yogurt on the top of the soup rather than the usualy sour cream and he said the "sour cream" was really good "this time". It was all I could do to laugh - I haven't been able to get him to eat plain yogurt - thank you! I did add some black beans and a little corn. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Home Town: Poteet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathikay
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very good..could enhance the flavor by sauting corn tortillas with the onion....creates a corn/masa flavor thats very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathikay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Super easy to put together. Added some fresh corn and a little oregano to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Delicious!! I did substitute one can of enchilada sauce (medium) for the 2nd can of chicken broth .... Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very tasty, restaurant quality soup. Husband said you could sell this stuff! I added about 1 cup of frozen corn for the last 15 minutes. Next time I'll double the recipe since its doesn't make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Hubby and I really enjoyed this soup.What great flavor. I added more garlic,(6 cloves),1 tsp of Cumin,one can of white beans,2 qts of chix broth, Rotisserrie Chix,the Rotel(diced tomatoes with green chile peppers), the 4oz of Green Chilies chopped,1 6oz can of Tomatoe Paste, 3 tbls of jarred Lime Juice ( my limes are still not ready to be picked),leftover Mexican Restaurant Tortilla Chips, and a touch of Cilantro as I forgot to buy that, omitted the Cayenne and the Rotel was plenty spicy for us. Topped it with Sour Cream and Cheddar Cheese. Next time I will add the Cilantro and Fresh Limes. I did pick some fresh Basil leaves and tossed in a handful of that the last 10 min before serving to get them to go limp. Delicious recipe, and for us a Keeper. Thank you for sharing this great tasting quick to make hearty soup. And I have leftovers to freeze. It was 103 degrees today, but this soup was worth cooking. It will be a body warmer in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States