Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jtmoney386
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I made this meal with cumin and coriander added. Blended it in a food processor, then made an equal batch but added green peppers, green onions, and tomatoes for color and mixed the two (to thin it out and give it color). I fried flour tortillas, seasoned them with fajita seasoning (from All Flavors Spice Rack) and chopped some cilantro. I used the cilantro l, tortillas, and a wedge of lime to garnish. Not only was it incredible, but with the spices and herbs (and lime) used it stuck really true to the Mexican style flavor combos. I am a cook at a local resort and it sold like hot cakes. You must try it this way. Toy with the idea yourself. Add chipotle spice or chili seasoning to give it a kick if you want. Adding a picture, the picture quality ain't great, but look how appealing this is:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
not my fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This sounds like what I am looking for! My husband just had heart surgery and needs low sodium, but all the low sodium tastes so bland! This sounds like the flavors will blend nicely to keep it flavorful but healthy! Going to try it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is my favorite type of tortilla soup but I tweak it a bit. Skip the oregano and add fresh cilantro and bell peppers. Trust me. And a vegetarian version tastes really good. I also use vegetable broth and shredded tofu. I just add extra vegetables and let it simmer longer so the flavors of the vegetables can absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Only thing I would change was instead of the jalapeno peppers I add a teaspoon on cayenne or two depends on how spice you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Awesome. Used 2 green chilies, 1 can of diced tomatoes and added a sprinkle of chilli powder at the end. Not a big fan of yellow onions so i used green instead and probably doesnt change the flovour much but the colour contrast is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This had a wonderful flavor! I am not a fan of spicy food, but I loved the temperature of this dish. The jalapeños added just the right amount of flavor without the pain. I also added about a 1/2 tsp of cumin which worked well IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
this tortilla soup was excellent ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Gene and Alyssa loved it! Cameron didn't like the chunks of tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lucas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
In my hurry, tossed in chopped onions in before broiling, but turned out delicious anyway. Used 2 whole grilled & shredded chicken breasts which loaded the soup. We garnished with chopped cilantro (could leave out oregano next time), avocado and a sprinkle of Mexican cheese. LOVE it! Wish there was leftovers : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States