Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was my first time makeing tortilla soup. Ive tasted others but I have to say this was so far the best. I tweaked it a bit following other suggestions. I fried the tortilla strips to make crunchy, and then added green chili instead of jalapenos, and skipped the onion rings. I served it with a dallop of fat free sour cream and monterey jack cheese in the bottom of the bowl, ladled soup over this then added crispy tortilla strips and cilantro with a lime wedge. We loved it, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This soup is fantastic tasting AND healthy! I did two bnls/sknls chicken breasts in the crock pot with chicken stock to get them shreddable then used the stock in the recipe (after straining out the fat). I was worried about the slices of jalepeno being too spicy, but they weren't at all- as a matter of fact, I'll probably add an extra next time for a little more kick. I think next time I'll skip the broiled onion rings, because they didn't really add much for me,and I wound up scorching half of them anyway! My husband said he loved it, but that it was different from what he was used to(the broth was clear, not red). I highly recommend this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Just did the recipe last night for the 1st time. 2 thumbs up! Wife loved it. I love it. Friends love it. I did improvise a bit. I used a rotisserie chicken already cooked in the deli and just deboned and took all the meat from it to try and save some time and added about 1/3 cup of cilantro to the recipe. Also, I fried the tortilla strips and dusted them with chili powder while frying them. But, as stated earlier, I got rave reviews for my improvisations. This one is definitely staying in the rotation :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I love this soup!! I made it and everyone loved it. Needless to say there were no leftovers. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a great very delicious recipe! I have a similar one from a friend that adds black beans, and fresh corn. And we fry up the tortilla strips in Canola oil, which Im sure adds some fat but they taste great ! 6 of my friends agree...This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This turned out great. I added some black beans to the soup. And in the bottom of the bowl, some strips of avocado and shredded cheese. Also put some green salsa out that people could stir in to increase the spiciness/tanginess level. There are alot of ways to dress the soup up, but even alone it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev N.
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Delicious soup and easy to make. I fried some flour tortilla strips (instead of corn) in a little olive oil and in lue of jalepeno peppers, I just used cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kampala, Central Region, Uganda
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I absolutly loved this recipe! I made it exactly as is. The only variation I did was instead of chopped fresh tomatoes I used the canned ones.. I think the canned ones always give a little more flavor. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I was surprised by how good this recipe is. It's a good low carb soup if you eat it without the tortilla strips. After making it several times, I recommend making it with canned jalapenos. For some reason, fresh ones don't lend their heat to the soup and it comes out bland. Also, definately eat with some shredded monterrey jack! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This was very good.. especially when you take the time to make home made chicken stock! This Texan loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States