Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was great! I did add a bit of shredded cheese to it when I served it...YUM! I also used organic corn chips. I agree that the homemade chicken stock is worth it. I have made it both ways and they were both good but the homemade stock was a bit better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Kind of bland, not really a meal like I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I love this soup!! I made it and everyone loved it. Needless to say there were no leftovers. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a great very delicious recipe! I have a similar one from a friend that adds black beans, and fresh corn. And we fry up the tortilla strips in Canola oil, which Im sure adds some fat but they taste great ! 6 of my friends agree...This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I thought it was great. I made my own Chicken stock and followed most of the recipe directions. If you make your own stock make sure you taste it and use salt if needed. I'm from Texas and our Tortilla soup is made just like this. I'm really surprised to see so many cream based soups calling themselves Tortilla Soup. I'm glad I found this recipe because it rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This soup is fantastic tasting AND healthy! I did two bnls/sknls chicken breasts in the crock pot with chicken stock to get them shreddable then used the stock in the recipe (after straining out the fat). I was worried about the slices of jalepeno being too spicy, but they weren't at all- as a matter of fact, I'll probably add an extra next time for a little more kick. I think next time I'll skip the broiled onion rings, because they didn't really add much for me,and I wound up scorching half of them anyway! My husband said he loved it, but that it was different from what he was used to(the broth was clear, not red). I highly recommend this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev N.
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Delicious soup and easy to make. I fried some flour tortilla strips (instead of corn) in a little olive oil and in lue of jalepeno peppers, I just used cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kampala, Central Region, Uganda
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This is the best tortilla soup I've ever made, and I've tried a few really good ones. I had a lot of leftover chicken from Father's Day, so I made this twice during the past week. The first batch I used some leftover homemade salsa with fresh tomatoes and jalapeno, and the second time I used canned crushed tomatoes and pickled jalapeno, and both ways it was magnificent. I've eaten it for lunch and dinner a few days this week. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lavezzo Carrico

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Amazing! I have only eaten tortilla soup twice before and I will be eating it often now! Next time I will add more onion rings and jalapenos. The overall flavor is delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
For years I have been looking for the perfect recipe for tortilla soup. After trying many different recipes on this website and given to me by others I have finally found what I have been looking for. It doesn't have too much tomato which is a big plus for me. It also has just the right amount of spices to make it taste great but not catch your mouth on fire. I have already served it for a couple of friends, and we all agree its the best tortilla soup we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States