Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this and there were no leftovers, everyone love it I also put some sour cream in it as decoration to the dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maru Šterbinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampico, Tamaulipas, Mexico
Living In: Skopje, Skopje, Macedonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I absolutly loved this recipe! I made it exactly as is. The only variation I did was instead of chopped fresh tomatoes I used the canned ones.. I think the canned ones always give a little more flavor. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Just did the recipe last night for the 1st time. 2 thumbs up! Wife loved it. I love it. Friends love it. I did improvise a bit. I used a rotisserie chicken already cooked in the deli and just deboned and took all the meat from it to try and save some time and added about 1/3 cup of cilantro to the recipe. Also, I fried the tortilla strips and dusted them with chili powder while frying them. But, as stated earlier, I got rave reviews for my improvisations. This one is definitely staying in the rotation :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very yummy! The jalapeno peppers made it a little too spicy for myself and the kids, but other than that, it was scrumtious good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I added black beans - and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was really good. We bought a chicken and made our own chicken broth. We removed most of the membranes and seeds from the jalapenos and it was still pretty spicy. To our bowls, we added cotija cheese, which I think really zinged up the soup. I don't know if it would have been as exciting without the addition of the cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was my first time makeing tortilla soup. Ive tasted others but I have to say this was so far the best. I tweaked it a bit following other suggestions. I fried the tortilla strips to make crunchy, and then added green chili instead of jalapenos, and skipped the onion rings. I served it with a dallop of fat free sour cream and monterey jack cheese in the bottom of the bowl, ladled soup over this then added crispy tortilla strips and cilantro with a lime wedge. We loved it, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
excellent! this soup has a great kick from the jalapenos, but the lime juice evens things out. delicious with avocado and some cheddar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This turned out great. I added some black beans to the soup. And in the bottom of the bowl, some strips of avocado and shredded cheese. Also put some green salsa out that people could stir in to increase the spiciness/tanginess level. There are alot of ways to dress the soup up, but even alone it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was great! I did add a bit of shredded cheese to it when I served it...YUM! I also used organic corn chips. I agree that the homemade chicken stock is worth it. I have made it both ways and they were both good but the homemade stock was a bit better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States