Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
WORTHY OF YOUR TIME! This is restaurant quality Tortilla Soup. The flavor is really good and the jalepeno's give it the authentic kick. I will however, cut back on the onion amount. Little too much for our taste. Will make again and again, especially in this cool weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jckept

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
The recipe was great, it made me homesick for Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was quite good - as others mentioned, it may lack all of the traditional authenticity of a tortilla soup prepared in a true Mexican restaurant (or better yet, in the home kitchen of an individual provided a generations-old recipe), but it was still very adequate and as good as most soups that I've had. As always, I modified the recipe a bit adding a tiny bit of Vermouth and roasting the Jalapenos first. To those unfamiliar, take care in roasting high-heat peppers as they *can* give off a rather noxious smoke when roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was very flavorful and spicey. The broiled onions didn't seem to add anything special, but that could be because i simmered the soup all afternoon after adding them and the chicken. I sprinkled some fresh cilantro and cheese on top and wished i had an avacado! This is a hearty soup that makes a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I was skeptical from the aroma of the soup, but it was perfect. I even used jarred jalapenos which made it very spicy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Made it last night and everyone loved it. I used green chillies instead of the peppers. fried tortilla strips in olive oil. Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
dad and grandma liked this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Excellent. The only changes I made were to use a rotisserie chicken instead of preparing it myself, and I also added a handful of cilantro right at the end. Delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This soup was excellent! My boyfriend and I both loved it. As our oven was not working, I had to cook the garlic and sliced onions in a pan, and I fried the tortillas as well. I will be happy to eat the leftovers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
EXCELLENT!! I skipped the broiled onions & added chopped scallions, fresh corn, sliced black olives & used crumbled tortilla chips. Family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States