Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
good weekday supper. I used ground turkey which is what i had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Our family loved this recipe! We used salsa instead of tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was very skeptical before trying this recipe, but it was fantastic! I used a glass pie plate and served each slice with a drop of light sour cream on top! In the future I will try variations such as a layer of black beans or top it with sliced black olives... YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Pretty good, and relatively easy. It doesn't really get soggy, either, which I was a bit worried about, only bc I put it together the night before and baked it the next evening. Other than needing closer to 40-45 min in the oven (since it came from the fridge), this cooked up easily enough. I'd add a little more seasonings and a little less cheese next time, but overall a nice meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
My family really enjoyed this! I cooked just over 1lb of ground beef, added some chopped bell peppers and a can of black beans, dropped the chili powder and doubled the cumin and added salt and pepper. I used a full 16oz of Ricotta, and prepared the whole thing in a 9x13 Pyrex dish, with 6 tortillas total (2 each layer). I used all '4-cheese Mexican blend' cheese, and used about 3 cups of cheese total. We loved it, but I think I'm going to make some changes. Next time, I'll add a can of green chilies to the ricotta, and maybe use salsa in place of the tomatoes. I only made 3 layers, and it was almost too much tortilla, so I think that's about right. This was a great starting point, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
LOVED this pie. Added more spice than called for as well as a dash of chili sauce. Great flavor, and the calorie count can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I agree with the contributor who said this was a little bland, but when you have kids that is not necessarily a bad thing. I had mine with salsa. Everybody had seconds and there were no leftovers. I replaced both the mozarella and cheddar with mexican cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
What an easy and simple recipe! I have two girls (6 & 3) who loooooooove tacos and enchiladas and my oldest had two helpings of this! So this is a keeper. I definitely think it needs more pep and more garlic. I also added kidney beans which were nice and I think mashing them in with the meat would be nice as well. We also used cottage cheese instead of ricotta. Was a decent substitute. I would definitely add more cheese but being on WWs this suited perfectly point wise. Served on a bed of lettuce with sour cream and black olives. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Pretty good! The meat mixture definately needs more seasonings so I seasoned to taste (worcestershire, onion powder, garlic salt, salt, pepper, chili powder, cumin). My husband ate half of the pie so the recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Came out great,I added chedder cheese to every layer and used more onion,garlic and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staycie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States