Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
good weekday supper. I used ground turkey which is what i had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Our family loved this recipe! We used salsa instead of tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was very skeptical before trying this recipe, but it was fantastic! I used a glass pie plate and served each slice with a drop of light sour cream on top! In the future I will try variations such as a layer of black beans or top it with sliced black olives... YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Pretty good, and relatively easy. It doesn't really get soggy, either, which I was a bit worried about, only bc I put it together the night before and baked it the next evening. Other than needing closer to 40-45 min in the oven (since it came from the fridge), this cooked up easily enough. I'd add a little more seasonings and a little less cheese next time, but overall a nice meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
My family really enjoyed this! I cooked just over 1lb of ground beef, added some chopped bell peppers and a can of black beans, dropped the chili powder and doubled the cumin and added salt and pepper. I used a full 16oz of Ricotta, and prepared the whole thing in a 9x13 Pyrex dish, with 6 tortillas total (2 each layer). I used all '4-cheese Mexican blend' cheese, and used about 3 cups of cheese total. We loved it, but I think I'm going to make some changes. Next time, I'll add a can of green chilies to the ricotta, and maybe use salsa in place of the tomatoes. I only made 3 layers, and it was almost too much tortilla, so I think that's about right. This was a great starting point, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
LOVED this pie. Added more spice than called for as well as a dash of chili sauce. Great flavor, and the calorie count can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I agree with the contributor who said this was a little bland, but when you have kids that is not necessarily a bad thing. I had mine with salsa. Everybody had seconds and there were no leftovers. I replaced both the mozarella and cheddar with mexican cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
What an easy and simple recipe! I have two girls (6 & 3) who loooooooove tacos and enchiladas and my oldest had two helpings of this! So this is a keeper. I definitely think it needs more pep and more garlic. I also added kidney beans which were nice and I think mashing them in with the meat would be nice as well. We also used cottage cheese instead of ricotta. Was a decent substitute. I would definitely add more cheese but being on WWs this suited perfectly point wise. Served on a bed of lettuce with sour cream and black olives. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Pretty good! The meat mixture definately needs more seasonings so I seasoned to taste (worcestershire, onion powder, garlic salt, salt, pepper, chili powder, cumin). My husband ate half of the pie so the recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Came out great,I added chedder cheese to every layer and used more onion,garlic and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staycie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States