Tortilla Espanola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
By making some slight changes this can turn out to be a great recipe. I used 6 eggs instead of 5 and 1/2 cup of olive oil instead of 3 tablespoons. Also I separated the sausage from the onions and potatoes and strained the latter before mixing them with the eggs and sausage. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This turned out to be quite flavorful, but I wasn't able to prepare it the way the instructions said. I thought that the amounts seemed a little off: 4 potatoes and one onion seemed like a lot for 5 eggs. It was certainly too much for my nonstick pans. So, once I cooked the potatoes and onions and combined them with the eggs, I put it in the oven on 350 for 20 minutes. It turned out really good! I will probably use only 1/2 an onion the next time I make this, but that may be more of a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Added more oil to fry the potatoes in but everything else I followed per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was quite nice though a little bland. I cooked the potatoes and onions in a cast iron pan then added the rest of the ingredients and transferred to the oven to finish - this worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I haven't made the recipe but I have a helpful shortcut for the potatoes. If you don't want to fry them in a bunch of oil, you can prebake them till they're softened but still some what firm. Then fry them in less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taft, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe. Very easy and fast and pleasing to the eye, too (my kids thought it looked like pizza)! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is a decent start, but ... no. This is sort of a pale imitation. Mark Bittman of the new york times has a great version on his blog, Bitten - check that out. But a tip for the potatoes would be to slice them thin, not cube them - they'll cook much more evenly and lend themselves much better to the dish, settling in a horizontal pattern in the dish. And yes - more olive oil is certainly needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I give this recipe 4 points because I think it's using too much potatoes. I love the idea of frying the potatoes more than boiling. Don't think you have to deepfrying them. Use enough oil to make them look shiny in the pan. Use mid to hing temperature and lower it when potatoes are golden. Add amounts of onions, and fry till they look clear and starting to burn a little. They should be crispy on the outside and soft in the inside. Lower your temperature when pouring the eggs. A burned tortilla doesn't have a good flavor. Never over cook it. Let it slowly love the pan and remove it right before it's completely done. The warmness remaining will do the trick of a cooked but still tender tortilla. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICHINGA2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I used Ole Ida's cubed hashbrowns O'Brian style (seasoned with red and green bell peppers and onions). This was much faster and great tasting! Added shredded cheese. FABULOUS! This is now one of my favorite recipes. At first I thought that the potatoes were a little weird, but they really balance the flavor of the spicy chorizo. This is a great way to impress people with your broad scope of Mexican cuisine. It's like thinking outside the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
As other reviewer said, when you're frying the potatoes it is very important to make sure that they're partially covered with oil, it is a must!!! This is an essential part of the process, if you want a moist and tender tortilla (as it is supposed to be). Don't worry if your potatoes go a little bit mushy and stick together, in the end you're gonna mix them with eggs and fry the whole thing.... I can assure you will not notice if the potatoes were stuck or not before. The amount of eggs depends on their size, you have to add enough eggs (liquids) to dip the potatoes (sometimes, when i'm out of eggs, and don't have enough of them to cover the potatoes, i add a dash of milk and it turns out even moister). By the way, it tastes really good if you make it just from potatoes, onions and green pepper!!! It is worth a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States