Tortilla Espanola (Spanish Tortilla) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I live in Spain and this recipe, although delicious, differs from the classic tortilla española in the fact that the classic one, the one you get in bars and restaurants does not have the serrano ham and the peppers. I have worked in many kitchens on the Mediterranean side of Spain, and learned there how to make a mean tortilla. There are two ways: with or without onions, and many restaurants offer both. You can cook the potatoes and onions together, in a deep pan, adding a little more oil and draining it when it's done. You know the potatoes are done when they are soft enough to be broken by the weight of the spatula. The tortilla will come out moist and tender if the potatoes are just a bit mushy, but don't mash them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I lived in Barcelona for years and my S.O. is Catalan, so I make tortilla almost once a week to have on hand for snacks (Potatoes, onions, and cheese only). I thought I would offer some tips to make it easier. #1 = less oil. #2 = cook the potatoes and onion together. #3 = Time for the eggs: No need to mix with the others first; just pour the eggs into the pan once the potatoes and onions are cooked. I always grate some manchego or parmesan cheese into it at this point too. #4 = cook on low heat after you add the eggs. #5 = when it is ready to flip over simply place a big plate on top of the pan, hold it in place, flip the pan over, put the pan back on top of the burner, and then slide the tortilla back into the pan. Don't be scared, just do it with gusto! Trust me, you can do it! Sides: It tastes great with a side of cut tomatoes with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of salt on them paired with a few slices of serrano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I make this but leave it in the skillet after cooking the first side and then broil the other side about 6 inches away from the broiler. It is much easier to handle this way and looks real good in a cast iron skillet. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitestown, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I ate this many times each week when I lived in Spain, and am so happy to have a reliable recipe to make it back in Seattle. Mix and match the "extra" ingredients to suit your tastes - I have never made this with any type of meat or cheese. I usually do as the Spanish do, and just stick with egg, potato and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Fabulous! Tastes just like I remember in Sanlucar de Barrameda. I definitely recommend broiling it as opposed to trying to flip it (especially with all that oil in the pan -- agreed, use a bit less oil, maybe only 1/3 cup). Broil for 10 minutes with the door closed (check earlier if your oven runs hot). Perfection! Omitting the ham and pepper did no harm (I remembered it completely plain, and that was how I wanted it!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is delicious as written. My only advice is to begin well ahead of time (1.5 to 2 hrs) as it takes awhile to cook the ingredients, let cool, and then assemble and cook the dish. It's not hard, but allow enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I lived in northern Spain (Galicia)and we used green peppers,(just cut up into small pieces, not roasted) onions, potatoes and eggs. It's actually easy to add all ingredients at once (less time consuming), but you need to use about a cup of oil. The ingredients don't need to be covered in the oil, just keep turning until they are all soft. Then drain them before adding them to the egg mixture. Let that mixture sit for about 10 minutes before placing in pan. Now you only need to add enough oil to coat the pan. don't forget to add oil again when you flip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Very tasty, but too much oil. My recommendation is to deep fry the potatoes in 3/4 cups olive oil (saving the olive oil for later french fry/potato frying purposes) and using the 2 tablespoons oil used for frying the onions as the olive oil reserved for finishing the tortilla. This is especially true if you plan on using a non-stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was fabulous! I lived in spain for 1 1/2 years and ate these a lot. The onions and pepper add a lot of flavor as I don';t care for plain eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very good indeed. I have eaten this prepared by a Spanish connoisseur and this is the closest I have gotten to hers. I had to use canned potatoes but its quicker and I used cut ham and fried it a little with the onion if you want to use things you already have on hand like I did. Serrano ham is great but expensive and hard to find in Australia. When prepared in the oven (as I have made it before) it can come out a little dry but flipped it works out moist and savory just make sure you have a big enough plate first! Thanks for this authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States