Tortilla Espanola (Spanish Tortilla) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I make this but leave it in the skillet after cooking the first side and then broil the other side about 6 inches away from the broiler. It is much easier to handle this way and looks real good in a cast iron skillet. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitestown, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was fabulous! I lived in spain for 1 1/2 years and ate these a lot. The onions and pepper add a lot of flavor as I don';t care for plain eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was a great, cheap dish that was really rather filling! A fantastic choice for brunch or maybe an early lunch with a light salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great, easy recipe that always turns out well. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Always a favorite..breakfast, lunch, dinner..or with cocktails..it always works. One of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very good indeed. I have eaten this prepared by a Spanish connoisseur and this is the closest I have gotten to hers. I had to use canned potatoes but its quicker and I used cut ham and fried it a little with the onion if you want to use things you already have on hand like I did. Serrano ham is great but expensive and hard to find in Australia. When prepared in the oven (as I have made it before) it can come out a little dry but flipped it works out moist and savory just make sure you have a big enough plate first! Thanks for this authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I ate this many times each week when I lived in Spain, and am so happy to have a reliable recipe to make it back in Seattle. Mix and match the "extra" ingredients to suit your tastes - I have never made this with any type of meat or cheese. I usually do as the Spanish do, and just stick with egg, potato and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is delicious as written. My only advice is to begin well ahead of time (1.5 to 2 hrs) as it takes awhile to cook the ingredients, let cool, and then assemble and cook the dish. It's not hard, but allow enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Very tasty, but too much oil. My recommendation is to deep fry the potatoes in 3/4 cups olive oil (saving the olive oil for later french fry/potato frying purposes) and using the 2 tablespoons oil used for frying the onions as the olive oil reserved for finishing the tortilla. This is especially true if you plan on using a non-stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Fabulous! Tastes just like I remember in Sanlucar de Barrameda. I definitely recommend broiling it as opposed to trying to flip it (especially with all that oil in the pan -- agreed, use a bit less oil, maybe only 1/3 cup). Broil for 10 minutes with the door closed (check earlier if your oven runs hot). Perfection! Omitting the ham and pepper did no harm (I remembered it completely plain, and that was how I wanted it!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States