Tortilla Espanola (Spanish Tortilla) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Ths recipe is a lot of work and it was not worth it. It did not have much flavor and it was difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Engstjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Not enough eggs. I used all the right amount of all ingredients but I needed more eggs. Other than that, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
i loved it, kids thought it was just ok. i saved the sieved oil in a mason jar and used it to cook other things, delicious oniony oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I love this -- had made many times with a different recipe. I stuck w/ only potato and onion, followed others' suggestions and cooked the potato and onion together, and didn't flip. It took 20 min or so until the potatoes were soft but was the best yet. I sprinkle w/ grated cheese, paprika and green onion before broiling. We like serving ours with a bit of mayonnaise! I'd love to try it with a bit of goat cheese mixed in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
So many years after living a year abroad in Spain, nothing stands out more in mind like the comfort of a well-made tortilla espanola. We enjoyed this for breakfast this morning, scaled back for just two people, with 4 eggs, two large potatoes, half an onion, and a dash of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Keep it simple, use plenty of olive oil, and cross your fingers for good luck when turning it over and you can't go wrong!! Buen provecho!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I lived in Barcelona for years and my S.O. is Catalan, so I make tortilla almost once a week to have on hand for snacks (Potatoes, onions, and cheese only). I thought I would offer some tips to make it easier. #1 = less oil. #2 = cook the potatoes and onion together. #3 = Time for the eggs: No need to mix with the others first; just pour the eggs into the pan once the potatoes and onions are cooked. I always grate some manchego or parmesan cheese into it at this point too. #4 = cook on low heat after you add the eggs. #5 = when it is ready to flip over simply place a big plate on top of the pan, hold it in place, flip the pan over, put the pan back on top of the burner, and then slide the tortilla back into the pan. Don't be scared, just do it with gusto! Trust me, you can do it! Sides: It tastes great with a side of cut tomatoes with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of salt on them paired with a few slices of serrano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I thought this was very good but it gets five stars because my husband really loved it. Omitted the ham. Wish it could taste this good with less oil, but I did not use a nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I've tried making Tortilla Espanola before using a different recipe, which turned out to be a disaster! This however was easy and delicious! I followed the recipe to the tee making only one change, I added smoked paprika to the potatoes before frying, for added flavor. Flipping it over was not a problem at all ... clutch the plate over the pan with both hands and turn quickly making sure to use mittens so you don't burn your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family loved this. The only change I would make is a little less oi and to be sure to buy small onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I live in Spain and this recipe, although delicious, differs from the classic tortilla española in the fact that the classic one, the one you get in bars and restaurants does not have the serrano ham and the peppers. I have worked in many kitchens on the Mediterranean side of Spain, and learned there how to make a mean tortilla. There are two ways: with or without onions, and many restaurants offer both. You can cook the potatoes and onions together, in a deep pan, adding a little more oil and draining it when it's done. You know the potatoes are done when they are soft enough to be broken by the weight of the spatula. The tortilla will come out moist and tender if the potatoes are just a bit mushy, but don't mash them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States