Tortilla Espanola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I thought this was great and very easy. Used much less oil than a lot of the recipes I'd seen online and that was appreciated. Kids devoured it. We added a little cheese and some chorizo but I don't think it is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I spent 5 years living in Spain as a kid & this was my favorite dish! If you really want to make it authentically, stick to just the eggs, onion, & potatoes. Keep the potatoes sliced thin & do the same with the onion. Fry both in a large omelet pan with olive oil until golden brown. Beat eggs separately, without any milk or oil. Once items in the pan are ready, pour the eggs directly on top, making sure it's not too thick. Season the tortilla before the eggs set.Cook until eggs are fairly well set, then carefully flip the tortilla & cook the other side. Should be thin once done & extremely delicious! Brings me back to my childhood every bite!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Great recipe. Yes, I definitely needed a little more time in the stove but it came out wonderful. I left out the parsley since I was trying to recapture the spanish tortillas that I so enjoyed on the Camino de Santiago. Now I need to find a good cafe con leche recipe although my homemade mocha is not a bad substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this for dinner (without parsley, which I didn't have) and it was super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Very good! cooked it start to finish in 30 minutes by cutting potatoes smaller. Very satisfying think next I'll have to make more everyone liked it so much they wanted more. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a great, basic recipe, but can actually be much easier to prepare than the directions listed if you have a good non-stick pan. I make this all the time, but after cooking the potatoes and onions, I turn the heat down and add the egg mixture (I add a little milk rather than more oil) directly on top of the veg. I sort of go around the pan lifting up the cooking edges with a spatula to let more of the uncooked egg mixture run down under the cooking egg onto the pan. Then after a few minutes, I turn it onto a plate and then slide the uncooked side directly back into the pan to cook for just a few more minutes. Then slide it out onto my serving dish and it comes out in a perfect shape. No baking required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this exactly as directed. It tasted fantastic. Not quite enough eggs as I remember this dish having in Spain, but very close. The bake time is definitely 25 minutes (not 5). I had a lot of trouble with the potatoes sticking to my skillet, which is unusual; next time I will transfer the mix to a pie dish to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solipsis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe, my dad used to eat this all the time as a child and raves when I make it for him. I also used to work in a tapas restaurant and the recipe is very similar. I do not personally use parsely but instead add green onions on top before baking it. Also try adding spicy chorizo which totally elevates the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was just fabuloso! I did not change a thing in this recipe and it turned out amazing! I served this as one of the items on my Xmas brunch table and it was very well received. Will definitely be making this again and again! :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I halved the recipe because I am not a huge fan of eggs, plus I'm single. But I wanted to try a Spanish recipe because I'm learning the language and wanted to connect to the culture. To my surprise, it came out great, and the taste of eggs didn't overpower me. I did make a few adjustments....I used red potatoes instead (which I believe cook faster), and I used Old Bay seasoning) (my favorite in place of the smoked paprika, salt, and pepper. I used a small white onion instead of a sweet one, and I used dill instead of parsley. Finally, I made sure that the bottom of the eggs were brown before putting it in the oven for about 6 minutes. Excelente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States