Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I started by making my own corn tortillas, and left out the pimentos. I made it as a dinner casserole with almost a whole, simmered chicken cut up in small pieces and added in the three layers. I expected a more quiche texture with the eggs and milk, but you wouldn't even know it was there. Just a nice layered casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mauck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Before adding the the corn tortillas, stack them, then cut into 6 wedges. This makes them much more manageable in the casserole. Reserve some of the shredded cheese. Cook the casserole covered in foil for the first 50 minutes, then uncover and sprinkle with the reserved cheese. Cook the remaining 10 minutes, then let set for about 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marshame

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I love this recipe! It is my go-to for when we have food day at work or houseguests. I make it as is, but instead of adding sausage, I throw in chorizo instead and that really gives it the Mexican flare. I also love how this it Gluten Free since I have a few friends and a brother-in-law who are celiac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The final result was a very runny casserole with extremely soggy corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazardville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was not good - tortillas made it mushy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Brunch meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Delicious! Made this for a Fathers Day breakfast. I threw in a jar of Trader Joes Cowboy Caviar (13 oz) as I wasn't interested in the black olives and didn't have the chilis or pimentos. I used fresh pico de gallo instead of jar salsa. It was spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great recipe. Comes out light and fluffy -- sort of like a layered souffle. I add a dash or two of cumin and a pinch of cayenne to the egg/milk mix just to enhance the Mexican flavor and spice it up a bit. Delish. Make it all the time for gatherings and it never fails to disappear -- everyone loves it. Don't understand the "mushy" comment. Maybe the reviewer isn't familiar with egg casseroles? If you live at a high altitude you may have to cook it longer..I just cook it until it's fluffy inside and not too jiggly. Also sometimes leave out the salsa and serve it on the side. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I loved this recipe! Very tasty. Smells delicious when baking! I used 6 eggs and 6 egg whites. I also added a container of fresh, sliced mushrooms. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Good basic recipe I can see additions to make different casseroles. This was the fiorst timed I tyried this recipe. I made a few changes, I did not have any pimentos so of course they were left out. After reading some of the other reviews I increased the eggs to 8 and cut back to 1 cup of milk. I added 1 1/2 cups of diced ham. I served it to a group of VBS teachers and they raved about it. Some came back for seconds, but there wasn't any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States