Tortellini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
When I first made this, I was a little leary, because I wasn't sure my family (especially the kids) would like it given the ingredients. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was actually wonderful. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because it was actually pretty greasy. If I could find a lower fat sausage or a turkey sausage, I think I might like it better. I cut up the veggies the night before, so when I got home from work all I had to do was brown the sausage and throw everything else together and let it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This soup was incredible! I used chicken broth instead of beef broth and added extra tomatoes and zucchini. The flavor of the spicy Italian sausage was amazing. This is the best soup I've ever made! (Jamie's Minestrone on this site is the second best!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was a great and easy soup. I added more broth when adding the peppers. It still turned out a little thick but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great soup. My family doesn't like zucchini - so I substituted 1 1/2 c. chopped spinach. Great for cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The broth of this soup was really good; it had a great flavor. However, the vegetables were not tender enough. I have a gas stove and letting the green pepper and zucchini simmmer for 45 minutes (I used frozen tortellini) was not enough time. Next time I will sautee the carrots, peppers, and zucchini at the beginning with the onions and garlic and then let the recipe simmer for 30 minutes before adding the tortellini. Also, my husband was not a huge fan of tortellini being in a soup. I liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
awsome the hood loved . serve with a good cab and great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I've made this so many times and it's unbelievably good. I've taken leftovers to work (it makes a LOT) and my coworkers are always happy :-) I don't change a thing...it's great as is! edit...I fibbed a little! I forgot that I've tried this using turkey italian sausage and it's still delicious, flavorful and a hair lighter in fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Delicious! Here are the changes I made: I omitted the red wine, carrots and green peppers. I doubled the tortellini (frozen) and used italian style diced tomatoes instead of stewed. As others suggested, I used tomato paste instead of sauce. All in all, it was absolutely wonderful and my husband raved! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was really good. I made it with Hot Italian sausage and I didn't have any red wine, so I added a splash of balsamic vinegar and a few dashes of red pepper flakes. Next time I make it, I'm going to leave out the sausage but that's because we aren't really big fans of Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Only needs one green pepper. I used 4 cups beef broth and 1 cup veg broth I had in freezer. Also used whole wheat tortellini to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States