Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe as written is pretty bland. I added garlic powder, ample salt, pepper, parsley, oregano and a chicken bouillon cube. I didn't add the full 10 oz. of spinach, and I felt it was still too much. I added some ham cubes for flavor. The green chilies definitely added some heat - my 10 year old wasn't too crazy about that, but I like spicy foods. The original recipe is good to build on and I will likely make again with some minor tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate0628
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love this soup! I use fresh spinach and I serve it with garlic bread...so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate0628

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I was on a mission to try to replicate the tortellini soup made by a family friend who owns an Italian restaurant in my home town. He would NOT give me his recipe despite my begs and pleas!! Tried several different recipe's before stumbling across this one. It is not exactly the same as his recipe, but it is very close! To be honest, I think I like this recipe BETTER than his!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Good recipe to start with, but it does need some adjustments for more flavor. I did saute some onion as other reviewers did, and I did use fire roasted tomatoes and fresh green chilies. Finished it off with some pecorino that needed to be used up and enjoyed it very much with some crusty bread. Quick and easy for sure, just make some adjustments to avoid blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was really good. I liked the spinach. I left out the tomatoes and added chicken breast meat to the soup. I also added green onions. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was super-easy, but needs salt for a boost of flavor. The cheese is also a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Excellent and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used fresh kale instead of spinach and fire roasted diced tomatoes. This is such a yummy, EASY recipe that is ready in minutes! I did not use the butter at all. Delicious cold weather meal in minutes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very tasty. I too used dry tortellini from trader joes (12 oz bag). It was too much once cooked/expanded. Probably half the bag (6 oz) would've been fine. I didn't thaw and squeeze the frozen spinach either. Basically, I did 2 steps. Sautéed garlic in butter. Added remaining ingredients. Let it boil then simmer until dried pasta is cooked (25 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My new favorite soup! I flavored the stock with oregano, parsley and a bay leaf, which I let simmer for an hour before serving with the tortellini (sausage filled). Sprinkled fresh parmesan on top and served with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States