Tortellini Salad with Grilled Tomato Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
Don't be turned off by all the ingredients. You probably have them all in your kitchen. Quite easy to prepare. Need mini food chopper or food processor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is outstanding. I made a lot of unintentional substitutions to use what I had on hand so I wouldn't have to go to the grocery store. I didn't have tomato paste, so I just omitted it. I subbed shredded mozzarella for the provolone, 1 beefsteak tomato for the 3 roma tomatoes, spinach and cheese tortellini for the rainbow tortellini, pepperoni for the salami, orange bell pepper for the red, and dried herbs for the fresh (I just used about 1/2 as much, maybe less). I completely forgot the lemon juice, even though it was right on the counter in front of me. LOL! I do think that this recipe makes too much vinaigrette--I only used half, and it was plenty to coat the salad and provide excellent flavor. It would be good for regular salad, too, so I put the rest in the fridge to use later, but I would halve it next time. I didn't add salt and pepper to the final product, although I did add some to the vinaigrette. I don't think you need much salt and pepper if at all--plenty of other flavors going on in this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I loved this. I made it for a 4th of July barbeque. I actually made it the night before and put in the fridge without the dressing. That I made in a food processor and poured into the cruet that comes with good seasoning dressing. While it does not hold every drop, you don't need it all anyway. About an hour before serving, I took it out of the fridge and pour about half the dressing on it. Once it came to room temp, I poured about half what was left on it so it was moist but not soggy. Everyone loved it. The tomato based vinergarette was a nice change. The only subs I made were changing out the provolone with mozzarella and omitting rosemary. Purely personal taste. There are alot of ingredients but it's stuff you probably have anyway. Glad I made it the day before because it was a little time consuming. Thanks Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was a great side for a hot summer night. It says to serve warm, but I let it sit in the fridge for an hour or two before dinner, letting the flavors really sink in. I also made the following changes: I halved the dressing recipe, but still used 2.5 tomatoes, I added sauteed mushrooms, used red, green and yellow peppers, I omitted the tomato paste and fresh spices because I was out and added red pepper flakes and lots of freshly ground pepper. Instead of grating the provolone, I cut up little cubes adding even more texture and flavor. I think you could add any a variety of vegetables to this recipe and the dressing could be used for a variety of things as well! I would make this recipe again. UPDATE: I made this once again cutting up cubes of provolone, but also added mozzarella balls and used herb paste. Once again, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
I love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Excellent salad, we like this as our main dish and some fresh baked bread on the side. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This had really good flavor. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This salad is very easy to make and was a big hit. I omitted the fresh rosemary, and used more honey b/c the vinaigrette tasted to tart for me. I will make this salad again but I would woulnd't use red wine vinegar, only balsamic and I would add more garlic. This salad would make a wonderful main dish, served w/ fresh bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I tripled this recipe for a party as is and everyone loved it. It went very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very good! Made this for a work potluck and everyone said they enjoyed it. Very nice for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States