Tortellini Pesto Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This was very good, but I really altered the dressing. I used 7 oz. of pesto, 1/4 cup of Mayo, 2 tablespoons of Parmesan, and about 2 tablespoons of white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I made a triple batch for a luncheon. I really like the subtle pesto flavor and tang of the creamy dressing. Like others, I omitted the olives, they didn't make sense to me with the other flavors in the recipe. I added more broccoli, which I blanched in the pasta water so you didn't get a big crunchy bite and also added some finely shredded, roast chicken breast. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Took others advice, left out the clove of garlic, added just enough milk to make it mix well. Chopped the red pepper into 1/4 inch chunks and use leftover cooked broccoli. I thought it was great with last night's cold cheese tortellini, but the family was less enthusiastic (probably because I'm the only Pesto lover). Fresh basil leaves add nice color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
WONDERFUL! I was skeptical of the mayo-vinegar-oil combo, but I followed that part of the recipe, with the pesto & parm cheese- and it was SO GOOD! Omitted carrots, garlic & spinach, used BLACK OLIVES. (I just can't do green olives with pesto- it sounds kinda gross.) Added frozen broccoli (thawed) and Roasted Red Peppers. Easy to make, and something different for a Potluck. I will be making this again!Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
so good! use red, yellow and orange peppers to spice color up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was a huge hit at a family gathering. I used tri-colored spirals instead of tortellini, jarred red bell pepper instead of fresh, and omitted the carrots and spinach. I also chopped the green olives so they were spread around nicely in the pasta and not overpowering. I omitted all the dairy except for what was in the pesto, and used balsamic vinegar instead of white so it wasn't too tart. This version wasn't too heavy but still had a unique flavor that had everyone asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Took reviewers advice and left out garlic (as pesto had plenty), also used farfalle instead of tortellini and added salami and cheese along with halved cherry tomatoes. Very mild, yet savory taste. Will definitely make again as it is a nice change from oil/vinegar dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Made this with no changes. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great healthy side with grilled hamburgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Noble Ethridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have made this salad several times and it has been a hit. I omit the milk. I have made it with and without olives and it has been well loved!! Great to serve something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States