Tortellini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was good for a quick weeknight dinner, but it's not stellar, and not something I'd plan for company. The flavor was good, but a touch on the bland side for me, and the dish overall was just heavy. I may try to doctor it up a bit with a few spices and some red pepper flakes, but I may not make again. If I do, it's defitely a winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made this for dinner but used fettucine instead of the tortellini. (Family not fond of tortellini). Will definitely be making this again. The flavors are wonderful. And was very easy to make. I made the sauce in the afternoon, then just boiled the pasta when it was time for dinner, warmed up the sauce made some garlic bread and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I would give this a 4.5 rating. I added some fresh mushrooms and garlic to the onion and ham mixture. My frozen tortellini came in a 19 oz. bag...not a 9 oz. bag. Maybe this is a typo on the recipe, that would explain why everyone states there's too much sauce. Even so, because of all the reviews complaining of too much sauce, I only used 2 cups of liquid instead of the 4 cups in the recipe. I used a combination of the milks I had on hand...whipping cream, 2% milk and fat free milk to make up the 2 cups. I also blended grated parmesan and shredded parmesan cheese in the sauce. Over all, it was quite good and I would make it again. The ratio of sauce to tortellini was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was delicious! Definitely a cold, rainy day kind of meal. I read through some of the reviews and made a few modifications of my own. We bought a 9 ounce package of bertolli pasta, which made things easier. When making the sauce I only used 2 cups of half and half, added some garlic powder and pepper (I like to taste everything while I'm cooking so I just added until I was happy) I didn't have any trouble getting the sauce to thicken up. My boyfriend loved it! "Definitely a bowl scrapper" he said! Excited to make it again and experiment a bit more. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My family gobbled this up! Made it exactly as recipe stated except used bacon instead of ham. Took awhile for sauce to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent! I used bacon, heavy cream and 1% milk. I also added some minced garlic and flour to help it thicken. I forgot the parmesan cheese, but no one missed it. Served with Cheddar Biscuits (also on this site). The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I only tweaked it a little bit based on other reviews. I added a dash of garlic powder and used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. Excellent for leftovers too (maybe even better the second time around). A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this several times for my family and we really enjoy it. I always just use whatever I have in the fridge for it. I have found that I like it better with milk (1 or 2 % is fine) instead of cream- it's not quite so rich. Just add a little flour to thicken it. I have also made it with bacon intead of ham which was really yummy! Streak cut bacon if your grocery store carries it works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
After reading other reviews, I used 1 pound tortellini, extra parmesan cheese and 3 1/2 cups half and half...it still made waaaaay too much sauce, and it wasn't thick at all. I had to thicken with corn starch and let it set for a good twenty minutes before eating it, but even then, there was just way too much sauce for the pasta ratio, even with me using extra pasta. The taste was good though so I'm giving it 3 stars. If I make this again I'll definitely be reducing amount of liquid used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is a very good meal, but very rich. I made this as directed and added some chopped red, yellow and orange peppers that I needed to use up. I sautéed them right along with the onion and ham. I served this with a simple green salad and fresh fruit. I would make this again; adding the peppers again and maybe adding some fresh ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States