Torta Rustica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This is an incredible recipe! A must for any good dinner party. It should be sliced thin, as it is very heavy. I've served it both hot and cold, and cold is easier to cut. Don't cut corners with the prociutto - It is definitely worth it. This crust recipe is very easy to work with, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I've been looking for a torta recipe for along time. This made it worth the wait. It was the most requested recipe at my cocktail party last night. The crust is wonderful and very easy. I wilted fresh spinach (one bag of pre-washed salad spinach) and thoroughly dried the red pepper strips on paper towels. Next time I make it, I will reduce the ricotta filling by 1/3 and, instead, add another layer of the peppers - i.e. use the whole jar. I will also add a little onion to the ricotta mixture for a little more flavor. Make sure that the crust truly does not extend beyond the edge of the springform pan. If it does, you won't be able to remove the side ring without breaking the edges of your pretty crust :>( I'm excited to try other variations... I'll start with Italian sausage and sauteed mushrooms with fresh spinach. This recipe is a real keeper - delicious and very showy. I felt I got great return for my money and investment of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I found it extremely easy to make this dough in the food processor. All of these flavors were fabulous together (it smelled so delicious baking, we couldn't wait the 45 minutes for it to cool). I most likely won't add the feta next time, as I really couldn't taste it. I did add olives and a top layer of sharp provolone (very tasty)...I may try additional ingredients next time also (i.e. sauted onions, mild sausage, etc.). Overall...great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Beautiful recipe when sliced. A real wow-getter. Lotta work, though. But if it's a special recipe for a special occasion you're needing, this is it. Very Italian, too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Tasted good, and went together easily, but very time-consuming. I would add some sauteed garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKAFLICKA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
The crust is great and easy to work with. I substituted pepperoni for the prosciutto. The next time I make it, I will be adding sauted onions and garlic to add a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This takes time to put together, but it is really remarkably simple for such a spectacular result. The crust holds together well, is easy to roll, and can be pressed into the pan without incident. The flavor is phenomenal. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Very nice recipe. It came out beautiful and the crust was much easier to make than any I have made before. I am not a proscuitto or ham fan, so I substitited with some pepperoni. Instead of roasted peppers I added olives and canned mushrooms and it was terrific. I will make this again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSelvidio
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The flavor of this torta was good, but the texture was a miss. Neither ricotta nor feta are smooth cheeses, and the addition of cornmeal to the crust lended a gritty feel to this. This was not complicated to make, but it is time consuming. Although this makes a beautiful presentation, I would not make again based on prep time and mouth feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I've made this twice- both times, a raging success. Excellent recipe, easily made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States