Torta Rustica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by bbqgirl
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is very good. I've made this with the ham & mozzarella, and also tried it with turkey & provolone. Everyone loved it! I've also substituted puff pastry once because I was in a hurry. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I needed to make two quiches for a shower, and I wanted to make something a little different, so I made this instead, and everyone loved it! Too bad I left the leftovers for the men to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This recipae is so easy to modify and, as previously posted, works well hot or cold. I find it perfect for a picnic after chilling in the fridge overnight. I bring a jar of pizza sauce (the torte keeps it cold) and pour a little over it. Of course, tomato sauce pairs well when it's served hot, too. Helps brighten this heavy dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was delicious and pretty. Crust was simple to make, easy to put the pie together. I made it for lunch for my family and my mom said it was the best thing I have ever made. This is a great special occasion dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Tasted good, and went together easily, but very time-consuming. I would add some sauteed garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKAFLICKA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This takes time to put together, but it is really remarkably simple for such a spectacular result. The crust holds together well, is easy to roll, and can be pressed into the pan without incident. The flavor is phenomenal. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Beautiful recipe when sliced. A real wow-getter. Lotta work, though. But if it's a special recipe for a special occasion you're needing, this is it. Very Italian, too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Very nice recipe. It came out beautiful and the crust was much easier to make than any I have made before. I am not a proscuitto or ham fan, so I substitited with some pepperoni. Instead of roasted peppers I added olives and canned mushrooms and it was terrific. I will make this again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
The crust is great and easy to work with. I substituted pepperoni for the prosciutto. The next time I make it, I will be adding sauted onions and garlic to add a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I found it extremely easy to make this dough in the food processor. All of these flavors were fabulous together (it smelled so delicious baking, we couldn't wait the 45 minutes for it to cool). I most likely won't add the feta next time, as I really couldn't taste it. I did add olives and a top layer of sharp provolone (very tasty)...I may try additional ingredients next time also (i.e. sauted onions, mild sausage, etc.). Overall...great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Torta di Riso

See how to make a savory rice pie with leeks and spinach.

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States