Torta Rustica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Leslie
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is really good. I omitted the peppers because I don't like them, but added some sundried tomato to the ricotta mixture. Everyone liked the recipe and it came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is the easiest crust to work with. It was a little bitt salty with the prociutto, but still very good flavor. Even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I entered this in a product specific (LaQuercia Meats) food contest at the Iowa State Fair and took first prize!! I made it as written with minor changes - I used proscuitto for the ham, the whole 15 oz pkg of ricotta cheese (what are you suppose to do with the remaining 1/3 cup?) and the whole jar of peppers. I halved everything and repeated the layers. The judges raved about it, and when I passed around samples people gave me their emails so I could send them the recipe!! Thanks you Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
We thought this was great. My husband particularly liked it -- he made the noises he usually reserves for particularly good cuts of beef, which was interesting, since he isn't fond of pork and vegetables aren't topping the charts either. But somehow this worked (probably due to the cheese!). I did add copious amounts of garlic mixed right into the ricotta section and I replaced part of the spinach with sun-dried tomatoes. While this recipe has a very long ingredient list, it's not hard to do. The trickiest bit is the pie crust, really, and if you've a little experience there, you're good to go. I'm not sure if I'll make it again except for company as this did take me a fair bit of time and it is incredibly fattening! But it's delicious -- Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Made it exactly as written and it was amazing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very good. We made this as part of our 5 course Italian Christmas Dinner. Our guests loved it!! We made a couple of revisions by adding garlic, sundried tomatoes, and topping it with hollandaise sauce. The garlic was critical, the sundried tomatoes was because we had them to use, and the sauce was for that special Holiday touch. We will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made it vegetarian! And lower fat! Instead of using any ham, I sauteed zucchini and added garlic to the cheese mixture. It was absolutely delicious and not lacking in any flavor. I thought it would be a problem to use fat-free ricotta but it was all I had. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good, very rich. Beautiful. I think would have been better had I found better sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Great! Crust is wonderful. The possibilities of fillings is endless. I think I will try some sausage next time and leave out the ham and spinach. It is filling and can feed quite a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful dish for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMarie670

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norway, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States