Torrejon Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This may be the best loaf I have ever made. Slightly sweet, just dense enough, with amazing flavor and texture. I didn't use the brown sugar, I substituted white sugar and 2 tsp of molasses. I halved, then placed all of the ingredients in my bread machine, using the Basic, two pound, medium crust setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this by hand and got a lovely not-too-dense loaf with a great flavor. I used instant yeast (Red Star Platinum) so my technique was different. I cooked the oatmeal as directed, but only let it cool 10 minutes or so, just cool enough to handle. I added half the flour, worked it a bit, then added the rest -- it wasn't quite dough yet, but I turned it out and worked it until it formed, then added enough extra water to make a good moist dough (oatmeal bread dough will be quite sticky until you've worked it enough, but it's important that the dough not be dry or you'll end up with a brick. A dough scraper is a great tool to have). I let it rise twice, then baked in dark pans at 325 degrees for 40 minutes. To make it fabulous, I rubbed the heck out of the top crust with a stick of butter as soon as I took it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I have made this several times and we love it. I halve the recipe and use the bread machine on the dough setting. I shape into an oblong loaf and let the dough rise for 40 minutes before baking. It makes an excellent bread for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omelet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I baked this bread yesterday and it turned out great and very delicious. I cut back on the flour though as I felt it was getting too dry so I cut it back to 4 cups and the bread turned out perfectly! Have to admit I was a bit afraid that this was going to turn out badly because the dough was beginning to get crumbly and thats when I decided not to use any more flour over the four cups. I will deftnitely make this again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Awesome, even I could make this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Hands down my favorite bread recipe to date. I halved this and used my kitchen aid for the kneading. At first it was a VERY tough dry dough so I added a touch of water, and figured it was going to turn out awful. But it rose perfectly both times and it's a perfect dense slightly-sweet bread. Great for toast and grilled sandwiches, and also a nice hearty tuna and veg sandwich. Nice light crumb. Just the kind of bread my family loves. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Excellent! I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour and 3.5 cups of bread flour. Quick and easy....and very good. This is definitely added to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Thanks, CARRIZALES!!! This is a wonderful bread. It'll be in our regular rotation from now on. To the people having problems with dense bread, perhaps too much flour is being kneaded in. This dough should be sticky but a little springy when kneading is finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Delicious and easy to make! A keeper and healthy. Very low in fat and high in fiber. I can't beleive such a healthy recipe can be this good. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delicious, but delicate. Easy to make, rises beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States