Top Secret Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I did like this! Since my apples were sweet (what I Had) I only used 3/4 c. sugar (brown sugar) and that was plenty sweet. It actually made a nice, thick coating on the apples. I did not have allspice or coriander, so I Just did heaping measures of the other spices but think it would have benefitted from the spices called for. Will make it again as I thought the flavor was nice and loved how it did not make a runny pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was a success. I like this recipe. This was my first. Next time I will make the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This turned out to be quite a delicious apple pie! I didn't have corriander, so I added some tasty cardamom spice instead and I didn't have enough pie dough for a top so I whipped up some streusel topping and added that to it before baking. The flavors of all of the spices were fantastic! I see some people were concerned about the amount of sugar in this recipe and I was too. I added it all in and I love this sweet spicy apple pie. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe; however, I cut the sugar and brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
LOVED the spicing, but WOW is this thing too sweet! I cut the sugar back to 1 1/4 c and it was STILL too sweet. Unless you are using REALLY tart apples the sugar needs to be not more than 1 cup total in my opinion. We found it almost too sweet to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was only an ok recipe. I thought the two cups of sugar was too much and I added it dubiously...and I was right. I didn't use especially tart apples, but even had I done that, this would have been too sweet. Next time, if I make this again (because I loved the mix of spices...the flavor was excellent there)I will cut the sugar back to no more than 1 1/4 cups. I thought the addition of coriander was interesting; it added a hint of a lemony note to the flavor. But there again, it was nearly overpowered by the sweetness. If you wanted to keep the sugar the same, this would probably be the kind of pie that is good cut with a slice of fresh cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Great taste, but way too sweet. I'll make it again, but cut the sugars down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Outstanding pie! Make it and watch it disappear. I've used Marie Callendar's frozen deep dish pie crust and had great results. One caveat: make sure to put the pie on a foil covered pan when you bake it - the juice has a tendency to seep out and carmelise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This was the first apple pie that I was able to make, and have it be a success! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
this is really good. it was my first and i didnt quite get it right, but hey it was my first! i will make it again! but i may add more apples next ime!! just for fun! everything was perfect! i will make sure i make my own crust next time too, my store baught one kinda came apart.. so i m trying the famous one on here! *Laughing* can wait til thanksgiving to show off my new found talent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States