Top Secret Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Instead of the top crust I made a crumb topping. Voted best pie overall by family and friends. Nice spicy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
this is really good. it was my first and i didnt quite get it right, but hey it was my first! i will make it again! but i may add more apples next ime!! just for fun! everything was perfect! i will make sure i make my own crust next time too, my store baught one kinda came apart.. so i m trying the famous one on here! *Laughing* can wait til thanksgiving to show off my new found talent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe; however, I cut the sugar and brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This turned out to be quite a delicious apple pie! I didn't have corriander, so I added some tasty cardamom spice instead and I didn't have enough pie dough for a top so I whipped up some streusel topping and added that to it before baking. The flavors of all of the spices were fantastic! I see some people were concerned about the amount of sugar in this recipe and I was too. I added it all in and I love this sweet spicy apple pie. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Outstanding pie! Make it and watch it disappear. I've used Marie Callendar's frozen deep dish pie crust and had great results. One caveat: make sure to put the pie on a foil covered pan when you bake it - the juice has a tendency to seep out and carmelise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was a success. I like this recipe. This was my first. Next time I will make the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I did like this! Since my apples were sweet (what I Had) I only used 3/4 c. sugar (brown sugar) and that was plenty sweet. It actually made a nice, thick coating on the apples. I did not have allspice or coriander, so I Just did heaping measures of the other spices but think it would have benefitted from the spices called for. Will make it again as I thought the flavor was nice and loved how it did not make a runny pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Great taste, but way too sweet. I'll make it again, but cut the sugars down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This was the first apple pie that I was able to make, and have it be a success! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
That's a LOT of sugar even for tart apples -- I added another 2c of apples and ditched half the sugar for a deep dish pie. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States