Too Much Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was so easy and delicious. The cake is super moist and flavorful! I love cake. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Bunce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Leach
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used strawberry cake mix, vanilla pudding, cream cheese icing, and added a bit of strawberry flavor and topped with the remaining icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Leach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
my family loves this cake. no one can eat just one piece. I don't use the frosting in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I'm truly sorry but I've never given 1 star before and have rarely given only 2. The flavor here is artificial and not much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this recipe as a layer cake instead of a pound cake. It was quite good, but I thought it needed a bit more moisture so I split the layers and drizzled them with a sugar syrup containing two teaspoons of strawberry extract. I iced it with a cream cheese icing to which I added the remainder of the canned strawberry frosting. I took the cake to a church function and received a lot of compliments on it. It was very rich but did have a heavier texture. I think it is probably best served as a pound cake as the original recipe was intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Substituted applesauce for the oil as suggested and used low fat sour cream too. I found this to be an excellent cake that you can throw together in the time it takes to preheat the oven. Not made from scratch but customized enough to make it stand out. Had a nice crispy exterior and moist interior. The cake is not very sweet but the frosting gives it that extra sweet note. Will definitely make this again. Also will try the chocolate and lemon version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Used Pillsbury strawberry cake mix with pudding already in mix, 1 cup of sour cream, 3/4 cup of oil (other reviewers stated), 1/4 cup of pureed frozen strawberries that were nuked in the microwave, 4 eggs, and 1/2 t. of imitation strawberry extract. WOW! This is going to amazing with my strawberry cream cheese frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made a very similar cake to this before (Lisa's chocolate cake ~ from this site). The main thing with this recipe is to reduce the oil to just 1/2 cup (1/2 cup of apple sauce also works very well). I did add one cup of white chocolate chips and 1 teaspoon of strawberry extract and one teaspoon of almond extract. I baked two of these cake for the guys at work and everybody loved it. The cake had disappeared so fast. The result was a very moist and flavorful bundt. certainly be making this cake again. Forgot to mention I used the Pilsbury cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I love this cake! Quick, easy, and super yummy!! I took some advice from the reviews and reduced the oil to 3/4 cup...added 1pkg of white chocolate chips...and microwaved the remaining icing and drizzled it over the cooled cake!! I also placed whole fresh strawberries in the center of the bundt cake. Ding ding ding...Winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
was hoping for more home made ingredients, will keep searching...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States