Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This cake is delicious. I make it with only one cup of chocolate chips and ship it to my son in college. It holds up well during shipping and has become an exam week standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Best chocolate bundt cake I have ever made. Very moist, couldn't stop eating it. I used 1/2 cup warm strong coffee instead of water. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I make this cake all the time for birthdays or special occasions. It is my go to recipe for chocolate cake. It never fails me and it never gets old hearing, "Man, this is good chocolate cake!" after people take their first couple bites. I usually top it with coconut pecan frosting, the kind used for german chocolate cake. At first I made it exactly as the recipe says. Now I make it with 1 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and only use 1 cup of chocolate chips like others suggested. Reduces the calories substantially. 1 cup of oil is 1984 calories and 224 grams of fat. 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce is 100 calories and 0 grams of fat. That means I've eliminated 1884 calories and 224 grams of fat from the entire cake and I swear, I cannot taste the difference between the two. My father and brother did not notice the difference either when I fed them the applesauce version for the first time on their birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Amazing. Made just as written and it was moist and rich and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Have made this 3x in recent weeks. Last version had half chocolate chips and half white chocolate chips. Very good!! I do agree that you could cut down on the oil as the last one was a little overdone on the outer edge...but it's so tasty nobody minded. A quick recipe with great rave producing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilovered
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Yummy and perfect. Used Satiny Chocolate Glaze on top (doubled). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have made this cake about 4 different times now. I always make it exactly as written and every time it has turned out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bellamia
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this for my husbands birthday AMAZING HE LOVED IT YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is such a good recipe and simple to make. A co-worker first made it for an office birthday and I woke up the next morning thinking to myself "Why didn't I take another piece for today!!!". So I decided to make it this weekend for my Dad's and Sister's birthday celebration. It was as good as I remembered...but I still didn't get any leftovers. Sure could go for another piece right now! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
It's a glorified brownie cake. Moist and all that, but I expected something more sophisticated from a 5-star rated 4000+ reviews recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 4,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States