Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This cake was a huge hit at a potluck I attended. I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil and mini chocolate chips for regular-sized chips, and I topped it with Satiny Chocolate Glaze (from this site). It was so chocolately and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by astrople10
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This cake was a complete hit. I followed the recipe exactly and also used the ganache recipe to top it. It was absolutely amazing and I couldn't be happier with the results. My entire family loved it and it was the standout at the dinner party we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Excellent, moist and delicious, made exactly as shown. Be aware that the large number of chocolate chips used in the batter may prevent the testing toothpick from EVER coming out "clean", even after 55 minutes or more of baking. I took mine out at 60 min -- thankfully just before it started to burn on top! I used the "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" recipe (also on allrecipes.com) for the icing and it too was easy to make and wonderful. This cake was a big hit at the party I took it to and this recipe has become the go-to chocolate cake in my house. Another hint: Use Wilton Cake Release on your Bundt pan to assure that it will come out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is absolutely a chocolate lovers DREAM! I want to eat this all day everyday! So addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
yolo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Huffman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It's great. I followed the recipe and the chocolate chips didn't melt all the way just like the cake decorator said in her review. I'm making it again, and this time with mini choc-chips. Deborah O.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
LOVE this, its my go to chocolate cake...I serve it warm with caramel topping. WORTH EVERY CALORIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Great cake but 1st choice is Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake from this sight. I made this because I didn't have 16 oz. of sour cream. I used mini chocolate chips which leaves every mouthful a bit of chocolate heaven. I greased & cocoa the pan so there is no white cake flour residue on cake. Pans should be greased & "floured" or use unsweetened baking cocoa for chocolate cakes & flour for white cakes. Release is easier. If not frosted,cake will look good. I use a simple mousse filling/frosting. 1 instant chocolate pudding, 1 Tablespoon baking cocoa, 1/4 cup powder sugar & 3/4 cup milk. Beat till thick & fold in 8 oz. cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
One word. AMAZING! My husband and sister both said this is restaurant quality cake. I make a lot of cakes and pies and such but this one "takes the cake" (pun intended) It is very chocolatey but is so tasty. Will totally be making this one over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 4,375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States