Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by hob
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is an outstanding, quick cake recipe that requires no icing. I used chocolate fudge cake mix, reduced fat sour cream, sugar free butterscotch pudding mix and 1 c. Butterscotch chips. The cake turned out moist and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am not much of a chocolate cake fan, but even I have to say this cake is one of the best I've ever tasted. I've been making this a lot since I've found the recipe. It's rich and moist and very easy to make. I bake in small bundt pans, drizzle with chocolate ganache (overkill, I know) and use in my holiday goody bags as presents around Xmas. It's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Made this for my birthday, first bundt cake ever! It was excellent, and i followed the recipe with the exception of using olive oil (all i had on hand). Could not taste it.I also replaced the water with coffee as another reviewer suggested. Iced it with Satiny Chocolate Glaze and followed another reviewers suggestion to heat the butter and corn syrup first then add the chocolate chips, works fantastic, no microwaving needed. Garnished with local strawberries, now in season, which adds a fresh burst of flavour with such a rich cake. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I've made this cake several times now and have loved it every time. The first go-around was for my Dad who is a chocolate lover. He thought it was amazing and I agree. Moist, delicious, very chocolatey. I topped it with Chocolate Ganache (from this site as well). Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I make this exactly like the recipe, unless I use 2 9" round pans or make cupcakes, then I use frosting(I am going to try the Chocolate Glaze recipe from this website that some comments mention).I usually need to let it bake just a bit longer than the recipe says. I have also used this recipe and replaced it with white cake and vanilla pudding - also excellent. I get so many compliments from this recipe, I will probably never use a different recipe, not for chocolate or white cake anyway. My friends will say things like "Wow! That is the best chocolate cake I have ever had! You have to give me the recipe!" I just snicker because it is also so easy to make. I put a 9" layered cake in a cake box I bought at the store for a couple of dollars and my friends brother made a bet with her that I bought the cake from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
exchanged coffee for the water and used chocolate cake mix instead of devil's food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
OMG! The family loved this. I made it as listed and it was great. I did not top it with more chocolate. I did use milk chocolate chips though. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melogaut
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Wow! Delicious and moist! Everyone loved it. I changed a few things. Poured half of the mixture in the bundt pan and added a layer of kitkat bites then poured the rest of the mixture on top. When it cooled down I added the chocolate sauce on top as well as a caramel sauce made from scratch and kitkat bites on top of the cake! It looked really good with the caramel added to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This cake turned out great! It's sweet and moist and everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is our go to cake for birthday's etc. I usually replace rum for the water, not sure why. I've made it many times and it's nice and easy. One day I must have been in the rum before baking, I forgot the eggs but the cake was still REALLY good. I think it would be tough to mess this cake up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 4,501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States