Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This was delicious!! I only cut a small piece off the bottom (bundt cake pan) but I can't wait to dig in to the whole cake today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I made this cake a couple years ago and the flood gates opened! Everyone I know requests it for birthdays, anniversaries and "just because". The recipe is way easy and comes out perfect every single time. I use the mini chips as others suggest and the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site in every cake I make. Otherwise, I use raspberries or strawberries or chocolate sprinkles to decorate ... or nothing at all! GREAT Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I've made this cake many times and the only difference is I use ALL milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. I prepare it the day before an event and I think it tastes better that way. I also buy a container of chocolate frosting and microwave it for 30 seconds. I drizzle the frosting (lightly) on the cake and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I have made this cake 4 times now. 3 times just within the last week. It is by far the best chocolate cake that I have ever made. I know the recipe by heart now. My I have made it to take to work twice now and after the first time, my co-workers have put a sign on the door by my desk that "Ina is the bestest chocolate cake maker ever". LoL. I have made it with the chocolate satiny glaze and without. Either way you can't go wrong. I love it best when it is still warm with a scoop of ice cream on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcxs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This cake is without a doubt a perfect chocolate lover's dream. It was moist and outstanding to rave reviews from my family. I baked in 2 round cake pans instead of bundt cake. 350 degrees apx 34 minutes. I used 3/4 cup oil vs 1 cup oil. Substituted warm STRONG coffee for water. Didn't quite use all of the chocolate chips. Important to use the mini chips. Spray your pans with baking spray all over and the cake releases without trouble. I disagree with the reviews stating no frosting necessary. I whipped up 2 batches of chocolate buttercream: stick of butter, box of powder sugar, cap or two of vanilla and several Tablespoons of cocoa powder. Beat with a few tsp of milk for smoothing texture. When you frost, paint each cake with simple syrup. Generously fill the center and thin coat the double layer cake--thin enough to still see cake. Chill in the fridge--this is called your crumb layer and the syrup ensures moisture. After the crumb layer is set, frost the rest of the cake. You will be the star of the dessert table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawkinsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This really is a totally delicious yummy cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Pretty delicious - a little oily though. I think next time I'll use some butter instead and see how it turns out. I left out the chocolate chips and that was a mistake - this recipe needs them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This cake turned out to be not as moist as I was hoping. By the second day it had lost all it's appeal and was just a mound of chocolate crumbs waiting to happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This cake was everything it promised to be! I followed the receipe exactly except for the following modifications: 1) I used only 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, because I was afraid 2 cups would overwhelm the flavor of the cake. In my opinion, 1 cup is all you need! 2) I wanted a more "grown-up" cake, so I substituted the 1/2 cup of water with 1/2 cup of Buffalo Trace Bourdon Cream. It turned out with the perfect overtone of the bourdon cream! I can easily imagine you could replace the water with whiskey, Irish cream, Guinness, ect. 3) I used Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix instead of Devil Food. Holy cow it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Most exceptional and very easy to make. Family begs for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States