Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Moist, decadent and easy to make, a winner all around. I used Hershey's special dark pudding mix and satiny chocolate glaze. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I normally view cake as merely a means of consuming frosting. While this cake is wonderful with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe on this site as others have mentioned, I can honestly say that it's amazing even frosting-less, as I learned the first time I made it when I left the cake to cool and ran to the store for an ingredient only to literally find half the cake gone when I came back. My tips (I'm sure with this many reviews, someone else has mentioned these as well:) 1. Many brands of cake mix already include pudding in the mix. To avoid making the cake potentially soggy with all the pudding and sour cream, use a mix such as Duncan Hines which doesn't contain pudding (trust me, your cake will still be moist!) 2. If you've never used a Bundt pan before, please note that you need to really grease it well and be sure to get the grease into all those little corners so that your cake comes out cleanly from the pan. 3. For a really rich, dark chocolatey taste, replace the water in this recipe with freshly brewed coffee - it somehow takes the chocolate flavor to the next level. Amazing cake and it truly doesn't taste like it's from a mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Made it just as the recipe is written except baked in cupcake pan. Loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I love this cake and so does my family. It is very easy and so moist. I have made it at least 30 times and am making it again tonight. It is NOT too much, just right. However a scoop of vanilla ice cream really adds to it. Don't change it.... it is great just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I love this recipe. This was so moist! The only change I made was that I used half the oil and half apple sauce in place of the cup of oil. I've made this cake 3 times!everyone loves it with just powdered sugar and some whipped cream on each slice. Jean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The cake is FANTASTIC! My friends now think I am a brilliant baker based upon this cake. Thank you for making me look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I'm going to call this the Cheater's Chocolate Cake. I was a little skeptical because of the ingredients but indeed it was rich, moist, chocolatey and not too sweet. Very easy. Package sizes are a little different here in Canada: two layer cake mix, 4 serving pudding mix and 250 ml. sour cream worked fine. I put a little butter cream icing and some slivered almonds on top but that was just to make it look fancy and wasn't needed for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I've made this cake several times and LOVE IT. It's so easy because you can mix everything in one bowl. I use the mini chocolate chips in it. I don't put any icing on it because it doesn't need it. It's even better the next day. I have one in the over right now to take to the church for a lunch they are serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is the second time making this, after reading previous reviews I cut oil to 1/2 cup and only 1 cup of chocolate chips and it came out wonderful, my health nut boyfriend who rarely eats sweets much less chocolate even asked for a double serving... next time I'm getting the chocolate mint chips... can't wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Thank you for this recipe!I made this cake yesterday for my mom's birthday. She loves it!:) I didn't find an instant pudding mix, so I just made a pudding mixture from scratch. And, I used triple chocolate cake mix instead of devil's food cake. Since it has a real fudge mix, I only added 1/3 cup of dark chocolate chips. I also followed the advised of others to reduce the oil to 1/2 and add 1/3 cup of milk. It so fudgy!!! I coated it with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting. It's so sinful! My collegues are convincing me to make another one. They want to order! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 4,366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States