Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Can this recipe stand another 5 star rating?! I have to say this was one of the best chocolate cakes I have EVER tasted! I never thought a cake would be ok without frosting/icing but this one is perfect without it. It is so moist and chocolate-y. Make this cake as directed, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So moist so amazing. Love this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe has many names. I first made in the 80's, was listed in our church's annual recipe book. It was called "Soul Food Chocolate Cake". Over the years I've tweaked. At the holidays, I put in crushed candy canes along with the chocolate chips and peppermint oil. Another variation is adding cranberries. There's enough sugar so that the cranberries are just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
As someone who doesn't enjoy cake very much, I'm really impressed by this recipe! I do substitute the sour cream with vanilla Greek yogurt. Same effect, and it adds a little something extra, I think. I really like that it's a dense, heavy cake. Everyone loves this recipe; it's my total go-to. I tend to make things from scratch, but this is the best I've ever made. Winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k.mckinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rossville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Good chocolate cake. Nothing too fancy, but cake is moist and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
First attempt at a bundt cake. Added 1/4 cup flour to the recipe for altitude adjustment. Also added a chocolate ganache on top. I have to say, this was the most moist and amazing cake I've ever baked. I brought it to a Thanksgiving dinner party and it was a smash success. People kept nibbling on it and it was half gone before the dinner began.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have made this recipe twice and I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this yesterday, I normally don't use packaged products and this recipe is why. It was just OK. I followed the recipe exactly. I did not like the texture of this cake. I watched the time very carefully because over baking a cake will always result in dryness, and I thought this cake was dry, strange color too. Not a rich, dark chocolate like I was expecting. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Houseknecht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This cake is delicious. I make it with only one cup of chocolate chips and ship it to my son in college. It holds up well during shipping and has become an exam week standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Best chocolate bundt cake I have ever made. Very moist, couldn't stop eating it. I used 1/2 cup warm strong coffee instead of water. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 4,406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States