Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
The only chocolate cake I make anymore, and I make it as written. It's wonderful. My mother, who doesn't particularly care for chocolate, said it was one of the best cakes she's ever eaten. I'm making it again tomorrow for Fathers' Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Absolutely the best chocolate cake ever!!!!! Delicious. Can't decide if its better warm or slightly chilled. Warm the chocolate pieces are gooey yet the second day its a nice surprise to bite into the chocolate within the moist cake. You can not go wrong with this!!!! I can't wait to try some of the other varieties suggested in the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Excellent, easy-to-make cake. I believe I now know why the other reviewer's comments vary about whether to use 1 cup of oil versus only 3/4 cups of oil. Not all cake mixes are 18.25 ounces. The cake mix I used was 16.5 ounces, so I used only 3/4 cups of oil (I left everything else the same). So, in my opinion, let the size of your cake mix determine how much oil to use. I ended up cooking it for 60 minutes (bundt pan) and it was incredibly moist and done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Maven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I've made this a few times now. The first time with the original recipe. It is terrific. Then I made some changes like cutting the oil in half and replacing with applesauce instead, and I use light sour cream. It has tasted great both ways. I also add frosting or ganache. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Made this saturday for a kids baseball award ceremony and it was a hit! People I didn't know came up to me to ask for the recipe! followd instructions to a T and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This year I decided to bake my own birthday cake. I searched for a recipe for a dense, chocolately decadent cake, yet easy to make. This recipe was a real WINNER! It came through in all ways, my husband I really enjoyed it. Best of all I loved reading all the reviews, some of them where hilarious! And a lot of them offered great ideas on changing up the combo of flavours, while using the same basic concepts. Must say - I don't think it's fair to change a recipe, then criticize the outcome...enough said on that ??! Only thing I was concerned about was the length of time baking, my oven is convection which gets really hot, and we live at a higher altitude, so I tend to watch the temp and time carefully. I think everyone's oven has its own "personality", which is reflected in a lot of the reviews. So, If you are looking for a scrumptious, easy and quick to assemble recipe for a dense chocolate cake this is the one for you, Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Made exactly as written and it was perfect! Didn't need any frosting! So moist but not oily at all-not sure what others were talking about with there being too much oil-it tasted great. I made it in a 10 cup bundt pan and while very full, it fit. :). I served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
My sister made this for her daughter's birthday as cupcakes. Some with/some without frosting from another recipe on this site. With the frosting it was great, but too much chocolate; however, without the frosting, it's absolutely perfect. The chocolate. The texture. The overall satisfaction. It is to die for... and I rarely say that about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
An easy recipe that makes a great cake. Everyone enjoyed it. Serves many. Told my friend I was making it again for a party and she replied, "that cake is my kryptonite." A willpower killer - you've been warned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States