Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a great doctored cake mix recipe and you can customize it by using different cake flavors, chips, and pudding mixes. I found that 1 cup of oil is simply way too much, I cut it down to 1/2 when I made it the second time and it was far better. Swapping out the warm water for 1/2 cup of milk is also a good idea. As written, this is a very good cake but with too much oil, so I say 4 stars. Cut down on the oil and use milk rather than water and it's a five star cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was great! Easy and a huge hit at Christmas dinner. Everyone was asking for the recipe. Thanks for this one! I'll be keeping this in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Tried, true and easy. I have made this cake so many times and so have my friends who asked for the recipe. So moist, prepared as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
There was a last minute request for anything chocolate from my office staff after looking at the deserts coming to our Christmas pot luck. Love fudge this time of year but that is not to creative so I decided to bake a cake for the holidays and ALL CHOCOLATE. Well, this cake was not only a hit by taste but most people did not want to be the first to cut into this wreath because of the simple but festive decoration. In the end, it was just what everyone wanted and thank you Denise for the help in getting there. Great recipe AND fun to do with that powdered sugar, mint leaves and raspberries. Merry Christmas everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Love this recipe!! Easy and very good. Moist and full of chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
As most reviews, my office loves this cake. It was dubbed chocolate deliciousness. Today I decided to make cupcakes or double chocolate muffins out of them and they came out great, and the chocolate chips didn't fall to the bottom due to the shortened baking time of 22 minutes on 350 degrees for 30 cupcakes. Fill the muffin pan as these don't rise as high as a traditional cake. For the bundt version, I put half the batter in the pan without chocolate chips and then I add the two cups to the second half of the batter which seems to evenly distribute the chips due to settling when baking. Finally I put half a cup of applesauce and a half a cup of oil and it still tastes great! Pair it up with half the batter of Love This Chocolate Glaze (food.com) and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I haven't tried this yet but this should be called "Death By Chocolate Cake" instead of "To Much Chocolate Cake"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this for my son's Thanksgiving party. It was really good and nothing came back! It is a LOT of chocolate, so if you don't like a rich cake, this one is not for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a real hit! Both my bridge group and family, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States