Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This year I decided to bake my own birthday cake. I searched for a recipe for a dense, chocolately decadent cake, yet easy to make. This recipe was a real WINNER! It came through in all ways, my husband I really enjoyed it. Best of all I loved reading all the reviews, some of them where hilarious! And a lot of them offered great ideas on changing up the combo of flavours, while using the same basic concepts. Must say - I don't think it's fair to change a recipe, then criticize the outcome...enough said on that ??! Only thing I was concerned about was the length of time baking, my oven is convection which gets really hot, and we live at a higher altitude, so I tend to watch the temp and time carefully. I think everyone's oven has its own "personality", which is reflected in a lot of the reviews. So, If you are looking for a scrumptious, easy and quick to assemble recipe for a dense chocolate cake this is the one for you, Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Made exactly as written and it was perfect! Didn't need any frosting! So moist but not oily at all-not sure what others were talking about with there being too much oil-it tasted great. I made it in a 10 cup bundt pan and while very full, it fit. :). I served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
My sister made this for her daughter's birthday as cupcakes. Some with/some without frosting from another recipe on this site. With the frosting it was great, but too much chocolate; however, without the frosting, it's absolutely perfect. The chocolate. The texture. The overall satisfaction. It is to die for... and I rarely say that about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
An easy recipe that makes a great cake. Everyone enjoyed it. Serves many. Told my friend I was making it again for a party and she replied, "that cake is my kryptonite." A willpower killer - you've been warned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Is wonderful and moist on it's own, but it would be good paired with a raspberry topping or a homemade fudge frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I love this cake! We have out of state friends visiting and I wanted to make a desert quickly so I could join everyone outside. The cake did not take long to put together and is delicious. One change I made, was using 1 cup of Greek Yogurt in place of sour cream. I use Greek Yogurt as a substitute for sour cream often and it has always worked well for me. I also did not use the Glaze Icing on the cake but used powdered sugar instead. The cake was still a bit warm when I served it, so I added a scoop of ice cream. Everyone enjoyed the cake and my friend is now interested in checking out allrecipies. com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimitomany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I have tried this recipe two times. The first time I used my large bundt pan and followed directions as stated.The outside was done but the inside was runny and the batter overflowed. I put it in the fridge and we ate it anyway. Very chocolaty. The second time I tried this recipe, I decided to make cupcakes out of it, hoping that it would fix the problem of the batter not fitting properly in a bundt pan and help with the uneven baking. It produced dry little cupcakes.I have a new oven as well, so this is not due to a faulty oven either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This was delicious!! I only cut a small piece off the bottom (bundt cake pan) but I can't wait to dig in to the whole cake today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I made this cake a couple years ago and the flood gates opened! Everyone I know requests it for birthdays, anniversaries and "just because". The recipe is way easy and comes out perfect every single time. I use the mini chips as others suggest and the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site in every cake I make. Otherwise, I use raspberries or strawberries or chocolate sprinkles to decorate ... or nothing at all! GREAT Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I've made this cake many times and the only difference is I use ALL milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. I prepare it the day before an event and I think it tastes better that way. I also buy a container of chocolate frosting and microwave it for 30 seconds. I drizzle the frosting (lightly) on the cake and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States