Too Easy Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. It is the exact recipe and recipe title that I grew up with, from my grandma. The only change I make, although my grandma made as the submitted recipe, is I don't cut off the crust. I leave it on as I like the chewiness that the crust gives the topping. This is my favorite recipe to use fresh peaches for a delightful summer dessert. I have also made this using a peach/mango combination. We like it best served slightly warmed with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I have used this recipe many times, always with excellent results. The two things I did change, however, were adding 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the sugar, butter and egg mixture and I sprinkled the peaches with a little ground nutmeg before adding the bread over the peaches. This cobbler is especially good when serving it warm, but it is not too bad the next day by warming it a little in the microwave. I have also used strawberries instead of peaches, leaving off the nutmeg, and it turned out really good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Wow, this is really good. Reminds me of the cookie cobber I make but better. I didn't have white bread so I used wheat. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a11i50n
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Awesome. I made mine in a cupcake tray and they turned out great. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup and added some cinnamon. This turned out AMAZING!!! It took longer to peel the peaches then to put this together. Already added this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I really like this quick easy dessert. I did make some changes though. Drained canned sliced peaches and cinnamon. I was surprised that there was no cinnamon in this recipe! I didn't even measure it, I just sprinkled what I thought was an adequate amount onto the peaches and also the sugar mixture. Fantastic with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by surme2ynot
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My family loves this any time of year. I use canned peaches packed in pear juice or no sugar added peaches. I usually use Splenda instead of sugar due to the fact that I've had gastric bypass and excessive sugar is a no-no. I also sprinkle cinnamon on too before putting it in the oven and make it in a 9x13 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Effort, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was delicious and simple. A great dessert choice for large groups as the peaches and bread can be prepped ahead of time and the butter mixture takes minutes to make and pour over. I modified my cobbler like many others by cutting the sugar down to 1/2 a cup and I also added roughly 3 TBSP milk to the mixture and 1 TBSP vanilla, as the mixture was far too thick to pour over. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a drizzle of honey when it came out of the oven. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Whitemouth, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Delicious and as the title says, EASY. I made a half recipe and when I saw the amount of sugar required for half, I knew there was no way I could put that much sugar in. I used slightly less than 1/3c for a half recipe. You can't tell that it's bread under the coating. I didn't bother to cut off the crusts. As to serving 12 with the full recipe!!! Let's be realistic: 8 at the absolute most, but 6 is more likely. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Wanted to get in one more dish before the Georgia peaches are gone. Followed the recipe to the letter except for reducing the sugar to 1 cup and I'll most likely reduce to 3/4 cup the next time. I think the key to the cobbler topping is using a really flavorful, good quality bread. I used Publix Bakery Homestyle Bread which is buttery, and IMO the best white bread available in this area. I tried to do a little bit of a lattice weave with the bread strips on the top which helped its presentation. The only time-consuming part of this recipe is peeling the peaches. The peach filling was juicy, and the topping buttery and crisp. Thumbs up in this house, and definitely will make again. One final comment...ain't NO way this 8x8 cobbler will feed 12. In this house, it's more like 6 (or maybe even 4, YUM).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States