Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for anyone wanting to avoid spiciness and still enjoy a sloppy joe! I followed the recipe exactly, weighing the ketchup which amounted to 3/4 cup. This is truly "simple, quick, and tasty" as stated in the introduction. Thank you RetiredDad9877 for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Can use pickle juice instead of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
My family absolutely loved it. Especially my fiance. Everyone had about three or four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Definitely not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is the best one! Now that I've found this perfect recipe, I've filed it away and won't try any new ones Why mess with perfection? Just a little sweet and very savory. Worked great for sloppy joes, or as a sauce over smokies. I add 2 tbsp. bbq sauce of our liking. Definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Mejia-Burke
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
It was really delicious! My 14-year old ate THREE Sloppy Joes, my husband ate one open-faced Sloppy Joe (which is probably the equivalent of TWO) and I ate one. The only complaint that my husband had was that they were a bit dry. Next time, I think I will add a 5-ounce can of tomato sauce and increase the amount of spices so that the flavor isn't diluted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mejia-Burke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Better than Manwich in a can... added 1/2 cup green bell pepper. Yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I've tried several sloppy joe recipes and this was by far the best. I will definitely make it again. It was easy, used ingredients I keep on pleased the whole family. I buy hamburger in bulk, pre brown it and freeze it in 1 or 2 lb packages. I simply microwaved the pre-cooked meat, cooked the onion and celery, stirred it all together and warmed it through. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We liked this recipe. I accidentally messed up and added 2x the onion, celery, ketchup and sugar but it still turned out good. I thought it needed an extra kick, so I added a pinch of cayenne pepper. That made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Simple. Traditional. Not too sweet or spicy. I like to substitute BBQ sauce for the ketchup and add a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States