Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Decreased the catsup by 2 ounces and added 2 ounces of Sweet Baby Rays honey BBQ sauce. Also added two tablespoons of chopped red bell pepper. Served it for my granddaughters 5th birthday party today. The entire family raved over it! Definitely a keeper and will serve it again. Taking a couple of cans of that popular sloppy joe sauce to the food pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
A keeper for sure. Even our two year old very picky eater granddaughter had seconds. Will definitely use this recipe again and again. I used 1 lb hamburger and 1 lb of venison....no one knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe! I've used it several times (but I skip the celery). I like the suggestion to use pickle juice instead of vinegar. This Recipe is always a hit, even with the picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very simple and very good! Don't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
this is a great recipe very simple.. I added salt, minced garlic, garlic powder, onion powder.. A dash of liquid smoke and BBQ sauce.. very versatile and yummy.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Retired Dad 9877. This is by far the Best Sloppy Joe mix that We have ever tasted .Forget Manwhich for ever . You Sloppy Joe mix will be the one on my table from now on. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Decent but rather ketchup-ey. May I recommend replacing some of the ketchup with tomato paste (like half a Heinz small can)plus water for about 3 of the ounces of ketchup? It would work wonders and the brown sugar would deal with any acidity issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It sounds good, but I make up my own recipes for everything I do and I don't always for a fixed regular recipe. So the next time I make it it might not be the same as the last time. I use any ground meat: beef, turkey, pork, any kind of meat used in making suasage, I have even used venison. The sauce I use is actually made up of ketchup, Jack Daniels Old No. 7 barbeque sauce, Budweiser barbeque sauce and some hot sauce (depends on what kind of hot suace I have on hand). Plus I had garlic powder, onion powder, chopped onions, chopped mushrooms and tomatoes, minced garlic and black pepper. I brown the meat and depending on the meat I will drain it or not bother, then I will mix all the ingredients together with the meat, but adding the onions, mushrooms and garlic first and sautee them awhile while I am still cooking the meat to tender them up and then add all the other ingredients, heat through thoroughly and enjoy the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbyr55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made this recipe last night just as it is. It was too sweet and wound up being...well, not sloppy enough. This was a miss for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made this for 40 people. Quick, easy and tasty. I did add some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States