Tonkatsu - Asian-style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbrough (frog)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I did not follow this recipe to a T, but my family gobbled up every bite. I had 2 huge boneless, skinless pork chops (from Costco) that were about 1-1/2 inches thick, so I sliced them accordingly and that's what I used. I first dipped them in parmesan cheese, then egg and then the Panko. They turned out great and my son ate more than I expected. I made some tonkatsu sauce, which I did not care for. Would probably make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Mmmmmmmm! What a great recipe! Btw, I used garlic powder instead of garlic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I used tenderloin pork and I pounded the pork into a thinner cutlet and then did the coating. They were excellent. I plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
These were just okay. I used chicken. It needs more spice and seasoning. Maybe some ginger or teriyaki. I may try it again with a different approach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Incredible!!! I've been wanting to make this using the Panko crumbs which I've never used! I finally bought Panko crumbs on line and I will NEVER NEVER EVER go back to using regular breadcrumbs!!!! I've been expermenting with these crumbs now whenever breadcrumbs are called for and these Panko crumbs ROCK!!!! Thanks submitter! Update: Since discovering Panko crumbs I found a recipe for chicken on this site called Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce - It is also a 5 star+ recipe and the Tonkatsu sauce is also great with these pork chops. I've actually had these in a Japanese restaurant with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This was very good! I ended up using plain breadcrumbs as my Panko flakes had been in the pantry for some time and smelled stale,I'm sure it would be even better with the Panko. The only thing I would do different is to be a bit more liberal with the seasoning. But very easy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This recipe was great... my family loved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
The panko makes it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This was fantastic...just like at a Japanese restaurant, it was crunchy and tender!! Yum! Now, if I could only make nigiri! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States